MtLawleyShire playing with the new lens

Some photos with the new lens – of course, I mostly used the Fattee Cattee & as much as I love her – she is a *terrible* model.  Does she sit still?  No!

So I also took photos of a leaf – a begonia, catching a snatch of bright sunlight & glowing against the dark background:

leaves

My lavender is battered by wind, but still flowering & a bee took advantage, & wasn’t I lucky to get this shot:

with bee

Now – for that gorgeous fat fluffy cat.  I am still working out apertures and ISO’s & manual focusing…

girl in new lens_1  girl in new lens_2

& this would’ve been great except I chopped off her ear!

girl in new lens_3

so I did this with it: the face of Fattee Cattee:

face

The never-ending demand for lemon grass, not having learned that in winter, it doesn’t grow:

wanting lemongrass

& sometimes, she is very black:

very black

 

(but always gorgeous!)

On my way to work – there were amazing clouds building:

cloud

Then the moon played hide & seek:

en-clouded

before it emerged almost free of clouds for a moment:

tonight's moon

& that is the last I’ve seen of it.  Too much cloud.  No – not complaining about the rain, but…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A MtLawleyShire Sunset in the midst of storms

We are having a little bit of Winter.  There was no sunset tonight – not even a smidge in West Perth.  I didn’t even take my camera to work.  Storms were forecast and they hit – sweeping rain and tumultuous winds – even hail.  It won’t die down until some time on Saturday morning.

This is Thursday’s sunset, and it was pretty:

sunset_1

sunset_11  sunset_12

 

sunset_9  sunset_13

 

 

sunset_15  sunset_2

 

sunset_14  sunset_16

 

A tree in a brief moment of red, lowering light:

 

sunset_17

 

& this last spectacular piece of day, throwing itself out against the clouds of coming wind and storm:

sunset_3  sunset_5

sunset_7  sunset_18

 

sunset_10

 

sunset_4  sunset_8

 

sunset_19

sunset_6

& a smudge at sunset – she sometimes follows me a few houses down the street and waits, miaowing plaintively…

smudge at sunset

I am not sure there will be any sunsets over the weekend.  This is a sad thing.  No photographing at all – not even playing with the new lens – until maybe Tuesday!

I will go crazy!

🙂

MtLawleyShire’s flame tree, birds and Black and White

I have a new lens for the “big” camera.  No – I don’t know how to use it yet (& today was no good at all – storms and rain & wind 7 thunder & working).  But yesterday, I did play a little.  Can’t focus yet properly and, annoyingly, I see better through the viewfinder without my glasses, but it does cause horrendous eye strain. Now what am I going to do about that!

But, as there were both hits and misses, I played with black and white a little again – and sometimes played with those photos that did work.  I will leave it to you to decide which you think is more effective.

Flame tree flowers in scarlet against grey – & the black and white version

flame tree flowers  flame tree_black and white_5

 

Flame tree and a singing honey eater – & the black and white version:

flame tree-honey eater_2 

flame tree_black and white_9

A wattle bird

wattle bird    wattle bird_black and white

& a wattle bird again, on his own:

wattle bird_2

 

Now for some black and white.  For various reasons, the colour versions of these just didn’t work.

flame tree_black and white  flame tree_black and white_2

 

flame tree_black and white_3  flame tree_black and white_4

flame tree_black and white_6  flame tree_black and white_7

 

I like how the branches turned out in this one:

flame tree_black and white_8

 

This I added a yellow tinge to:

 

flame tree_black and yellow

 

This flower worked well-ish…

flame tree flowers_2

Some singing honey eaters – more or less buried in the flowers drinking nectar:

flame tree_honey eater  singing honey eater_2

singing honey eater_3

& these two little guys were quite visible:

singing honey eater  singing honey eater_4

 

Finally, a gerbera from Amelia’s garden and a wee New Holland honey eater on a wire:

gerbera  new holland

I am enjoying this play with black and white.  Not sure what I’ll do with them, though friends suggest wallpaper, prints…

I will have to see what happens…