More of MtLawleyShire’s flame tree & birds

Is it OK if I post some more?

Today, I took out my new dSLR to see if I could use its limited lens to get some photos – timing is the thing with these photos as the birds move around so much.

It was so cold and windy my eyes watered like crazy and so many photos missed the mark – but not all 🙂

While there were honey eaters – singing honey eaters & teh little silver eyes, as well as new hollands, I only managed to catch 2 singing honey eaters:

flame tree_honey eater_1  flame tree_honey eater_2

Mostly it was a pair of wattle birds.  They weren’t in evidence last year, but this year, this pair seem to dominate the flame tree.  There are only the 2 trees now, as the 3rd was blown down in a storm last year.  Over 100 years old, is came down in an instant.  Terribly sad.

So, the birds are congregating in just the one tree.  The second hasn’t got as many flowers out yet.

This next set of photos are all taken on the dSLR – not a new model, by any means (Canon 40d), but still – the quality of the photos astounds me!

And if you think that many of the photos seem like the same flowers with the bird having only moved a little, you’re right – I stood there, in the middle of the road, and did the phtoographer thing – click click click click… 😀

flame tree_wattle bird_7

flame tree_wattle bird_1  flame tree_wattle bird_3

flame tree_wattle bird_5 flame tree_wattle bird_4

 

flame tree_wattle bird_18  flame tree_wattle bird_19

 

flame tree_wattle bird_6  flame tree_wattle bird_8

flame tree_wattle bird_2

 

This is my favourite:

flame tree_wattle bird_9

These are taken with my little Powershot point ‘n’ shoot, and it isn’t just the camera – the sun did come out and the wind died down, so there was a lot more golden light (it was near sunset time):

flame tree_wattle bird_10  flame tree_wattle bird_13

 

I am always amazed at the acrobatic abilities if this bird:

flame tree_wattle bird_11  flame tree_wattle bird_12

 

flame tree_wattle bird_15    flame tree_wattle bird_17

flame tree_wattle bird_14

flame tree_wattle bird_20    flame tree_wattle bird_16

flame tree_wattle bird_21  flame tree_wattle bird_22

 

flame tree_wattle bird_26  flame tree_wattle bird_24

flame tree_wattle bird_23  flame tree_wattle bird_25

Makes me wonder what I will catch tomorrow 🙂