MtLawleyShire’s hunt for wildflowers

First – I must apologize to all who read this. I cannot interact with other blogs.  I can reply to comments, but can’t do anymore than that.  I don’t know what the problem is, it keeps occurring on this blog and is a damn nuisance.  And the WordPress people can’t seem to fix it either.  I will keep trying though.  and I do look at your blogs.

 

First – despite the cold and the rain, this has been teh best season for wildflowers in one of teh parts of teh world that is rightly famous for its wildflowers.  and this year, I went looking for them in more than my usual haunts.  There are/will be posts from Kings Park and Hyde Park, but this year, I took myself and camera further and to more different places.

This post is from a tiny area of remnant and conserved Banksia woodland in MtLawleyShire itself.  Banksia woodland is what the natural area is like, and though there are no photos of banksias in this post, there will be in others.  It is a tiny area, perhaps half a hectare, but the ‘friends’ of this area are doing wonderful work in replanting and caring and maintaining all the plants.

And I found flowers.  Wonderful flowers!

Spider orchids:

This was the first time I had seen a spider orchid let alone photographed one.  I was delighted, despite the awkward angle!

flower_1   flower_2

flower_3   flower_4

flower_5   flower_6

Cowslip orchid – I have more photos of these in later posts, and again, this was the first time I had seen one.

flower_7

Donkey orchids – again, there will be more photos, but I love these.  This is the first time I had seen them and so difficult to photograph!

flower_8  flower_19

flower_20

This is affectionately called the ‘salt and pepper’ flower

flower_9 flower_10

This is a type of pea – there are so many varieties.  There are bushes of this little flower and I have more examples from other places.

flower_11

Banksia flowers – or ‘fruit’

flower_12 flower_13

I don’t know what these are, but they are buds and I haven’t yet seen their flowers.

flower_14 flower_15

This, I believe, is dampiera – a cousin of the beautiful blue leschenaultia which will be in later posts.

flower_18  flower_26

flower_27

I have no idea what this is apart from totally intriguing!

flower_22  flower_23

I don’t know what these delectable little things are, apart from pretty 🙂

flower_21  flower_17

 

And this? A ‘naughty’ plant – a weed, but it was the only one that held a bee still enough for long enough 😀

flower_16  bee_1

I hope you have enjoyed this first of the ‘wildflower hunting’ posts.  There are more to come 🙂