MtLawleyShire’s hunt for Wildflowers #2: peas, paws and pretties

The second in a post of flowers from the reserve in the northern suburbs.  There were so many flowers! I wonder if I will have time to return before they all fade.  It is getting warm and sunny in teh coming week and many of the flowers will fade with teh warmth.

These are commonly called ‘milkmaids’ – they are everywhere, on long delicate stalks.  So very pretty!

flower_1   flower_9

Cats paws – sort of like kangaroo paws, but much smaller, lower to the ground, but isn’t their colour glorious!

flower_16  flower_22

Here are the more iconic kangaroo paws.  they just glow in the sunlight!

flower_57

flower_58  flower_65

some odd ones – & I do not know their names:

flower_7  flower_63

flower_64  flower_51

flower_76

I believe the first of these is called a tassel flower and comes in blue as well.  Very pretty, especially when they are scattered throughout in quite large numbers.  The second I think is a type of myrtle and it’s almost finished, but so very pretty and delicate.

flower_56  flower_67

This is called a pimela.

flower_89

The first two of these are definitely the same flower, the third is not, but they are all beautiful.  I should really know their names, shouldn’t I 🙂

flower_91  flower_90

flower_70

Now – the peas – of various varieties and I know none of them 🙂 they grow on bushes of climb over things.  they are all rather tiny and come in so many colours!

this first one is common even in people’s gardens. Called a native wisteria.

flower_78

I would love to get more photos of this one.  It is very striking!

flower_82

But this one?  It’s face is colourful enough…

flower_26  flower_92

but from the back it is astonishing!

flower_41  flower_32

flower_61

I hope you enjoyed this small selection.

In the coming days, I will post more wildflower photos from MtLawleyShire and other areas.

 

2 comments on “MtLawleyShire’s hunt for Wildflowers #2: peas, paws and pretties

  1. Joanna says:

    All so beautiful, Keira, thank you ❤

    Like

Comments are closed.