MtLawleyShire’s zygocactus

It is that time of year – when my zygocactus flowers.  I just love these flowers – their outrageous colour, their intricate form, and the way they hang on the delicate fronds.  Look at they sideways & they fall off.

Let me share some pictures with you:

Buds

buds

water drops_2  water drops_7

water drops_10  water drops_8

 

water drops_3

after heavy rain that overflowed the gutters & flooded the courtyard – & everything in it.  It must’ve been very heavy for the zygocactus to get wet, but I am not sorry.  It did no damage & just added to their beauty.

water drops_4  delicacy_2

 

delicacy_2  water drops_1

 

water drops_5  water drops_6

water drops_11  water drops_9

& then the flowers, looking as though they dance or dive, in sunlight & shadow:

zygocactus  dancing

 

delicacy_4  delicacy_1

water drops_12  flower_3

delicacy_3  flower_2

halflit  diving

flower_1

They are incredibly lovely, these flowers, coming from an almost ugly plant.

After this flowering, I will repot it and hopefully, next year, wherever I am, it will have even more flowers.

I hope you enjoyed this brief post 🙂