Sunny Autumn Afternoon

Warm & dry.  Not a heatwave, definitely cooler than earlier in the month, but it doesn’t really ‘smell’ like Autumn yet. There’s little crispness to the days, though I must admit, due to the amount of work on articles & the PhD, I stay up late and miss the early mornings.  The sunsets are still red and glowing too, I noticed, though the pastel coloured aftermaths are a little autumnal.  I am looking forward to the pale, pastel shades of winter.

But I have noticed the trees are not as full – their leaves are thinning, and the water levels in the ponds are continuing to fall so it looks as though the islands are growing.

Today I got some good shots of the heron, and really wish I had an SLR to catch the birds in flight.  There was a lot of activity on the ponds this afternoon.  And no joggers, which is a good thing.  The occasional runner is fine, mobs of them aren’t. I’ve discovered that when you click on a photo in the post, you get a full screen size, and some of these really do look good in the larger size.

And it was a windy afternoon, so some of the leaves are a wee bit blurred.  Sorry.

So, a selection of photos…

and this is also a sign of Autumn – my cat sitting on one of the chairs in my courtyard.  Normally she’s hiding from the heat either inside or under some of my ferns.  But here, she’s soaking up the gentler sun (it was still around 28 degrees C).

And finally: urban sunset complete with telephone wire.  It was an utterly clear sky.  No clouds.  I’m hoping for some on Sunday – along with some rain.  That would be something.

It was a good walk.

I hope you enjoyed these.  Keira 🙂