MtLawleyShire’s Buhenia flowers

Buhenia are huge, magnificent trees.  Wide and tall, wonderful beings.  they lose their leaves and flower in Spring, grow leaves and the flowers become long bean-like sed pods that in February spring open explosively, shooting teh seeds far & wide.

A few years ago, I lived on the top floor in a small apartment block – the 3rd floor – and outside the flats was a huge buhenia tree.  A white one.  It was wonderful looking at the flowers at night – it looked like a Japanese painting.

When the seeds were dispersed, all of us in the flats became accustomed to the seeds hitting the balconies and windows.  And they fell into my potplants.  I ended up with a  veritable forest of them – seedlings that continued to grow.  The landlords took most of them (with my permission & thanks) and I was left with two.  I have planted one out the front where the growing conditions aren’t brilliant, but it is growing, slowly.  It has yet to have flowers.

The other is in a pot in my courtyard, and while it hasn’t grown very big, it has in teh last two years, begun flowering.

The other day, when we had a little rain, there were clouds in the east and sunlight in the west – for a moment.  The white of the flowers against that sky was just beautiful:

buhenia_3

buhenia_2 buhenia_1

buhenia_5  buhenia_6

buhenia_4

and with the bright sunlight on them against a blue sky:

flower_3

flower_1  flower_2

Just a short post.

 

9 comments on “MtLawleyShire’s Buhenia flowers

  1. niasunset says:

    I almost forgot, it is summer there, so beautiful. Thanks and Love, nia

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Anne McMullan says:

    beautiful

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Van Ikin says:

    I’d never heard of these before (so it’s possible I’ve seen them without knowing the name). As usual, your photos have done your subjects proud!

    Liked by 1 person

    • yes, you’ve seen them. They’re also known as the orchid tree apparently and come from Hong Kong. Perth is full of them. So is Sydney 🙂 And catching the light at just the right moment really enhaced the flowers 🙂 & thanks!

      Like

  4. Neil Rickert says:

    I had never heard of Buhenia. So I looked it up in google, which wondered whether I meant “bohemia”.

    I found Bauhinia natalensis, but that appears to be a shrub and not a tree. I also found an Indonesian page with pictures, but I’m not sure if that is the same thing.

    Then I came across Wikipeetia (“Wikipeetia the misspelled encyclopedia is an amusing parody of Wikipedia”).

    You sent me on an interesting excursion. But I’m still not sure what tree that is.

    Like

Comments are closed.