MtLawleyShire goes to the city

This post is all buildings – OK, a couple of trees and some green, but mostly buildings.

Perth is a young city with a fairly well-established disregard for its heritage.  Old buildings are in scant supply and many old houses are being bulldozed to make room for environmentally ill-designed housing and loss of established gardens and mature trees.  But these photos concentrate on the centre of the city, in the ‘cultural precinct’ where the mix of old and new is sometimes stark and other times lovely.

This is, I think, the tax building, squaring off in monotones and sharp lines behind the bell tower of an old convent (I think)

city_2  city_3

city_4  city_5

north down William Street is this building, and in its context.

city_7  city_8

The buildings around PICA, looking north away from the city with a huge hotel complex, and towards the city with its skyscrapers:

city_17  city_9

PICA – these buildings are amongst my favourite:

city_12  city_11

city_14

The brutalist Alexander Library and a corner of it with a small hotel nearby:

city_6  city_6

& that small hotel cried out for this treatment – it’s a black and white box;

city_18  city_20

though balconies add some texture:

city_19

the james Street avenue is filled with new summer green.  We will need that shade this year!

city_2  city_5

another favourite: a slice of the old police courts which now form the admin part of the art gallery (very un-photogenic building, the art gallery)

city_3

And here are some shots of the newly cleaned and revealed Battye Library and the Museum buildings:

city_14  city_22

city_4

city_21  city_12

city_8

city_1  city_10

city_7

city_15

I hope you enjoyed these.  Next – city flowers.

 

2 comments on “MtLawleyShire goes to the city

  1. Van Ikin says:

    Splendid photos! I really like cityscapes when they’re cities that I know, because good cityscape photos like these help to draw attention to shapes and textures and colour-contrasts that I would otherwise tend to take for granted. So this is a real “re-familiarisation” tour for me….

    Like

    • thank you 🙂 I have taken heaps recently, but I think these are the only ones I’ve blogged.
      When I have a little more time, will go through them and see what I haven’t put in a post.
      me 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.