A (slightly eventful) walk in MtLawleyShire

I went a-walking to the post-office in the bright warm, early spring sun.  And came across a pink bottlebrush – so soft-looking, more so than the regular scarlet variety:

flower_1

and in a  daze of looking-around-ness, I failed to see where my feet were and went down, BAM! – on hands and knees, watching in horror as my camera struck the pavement.

OUCH!

I sat, rubbing my knees, looking at my poor camera.  Oh – a chip in the glass!  Noooooo!  Phew.  The filter.  I checked.  All worked, but oh my knees were stinging.  At least I hadn’t ripped my jeans.  My hands were a bit ripped up.  Well, nothing else to do but get up and continue walking and be grateful no-one had seen me.

But I was wrong – I hand been seen:

bird_1

What was I doing down there, they seemed to be saying (though a friend said no way – they are too stupid.  I’m not so sure).

Relieved my camera was working, I continued walking, defiantly not limping.  Camellia and Grevillea flowers I managed to capture despite the wind that had sprung up:

flower_2  flower_3

Outside the post office, a wonderful sheoak, in flower, tossing in the wind:

flower_4

Sculpture on Walcott and the flats it is attached to, shadow bringing out the graffiti inexpertly hidden by layers of new paint:

walcott_1  walcott_2

On Beaufort Street, signs of Spring despite the heavy traffic: flowers on grass plants and pretty little blossoms on young street trees:

flower_6

blossom_1 blossom_2

on the walk home, late afternoon sun through the leaves of a hibiscus:

flower_5

A cape lilac yet to send forth new shoots, and a raven in the branches, causing the local honey eaters much angst.

tree_1  tree_2

a plane tree on Vincent in the late afternoon sun, pale and wintered still:

tree_3

the flower of a vegetable plant and a tiny, early rose in the shadows of a garden:

flower_7  flower_8

the sun is gone: clouds and storm.  later in the evening, it pelted down!

cloud

This morning was sunny and the bees were out in the lavender:

bee_1  bee_2

tiny jasmine sprinkled through the foliage of other trees:

flower_1  flower_2

and the prettiest flower of all, up on the pergola roof:

cat

my aches and pains have subsided and I didn’t rip my jeans but skinned my knee like any 12 year old in the playground.  When will I learn 😀

6 comments on “A (slightly eventful) walk in MtLawleyShire

  1. David says:

    Look before you reap your bountiful harvest of photos. Pride, and a crack in the pavement, always come before a fall. Hell hath no fury like a woman with a skinned knee… And something about the small poppy syndrome.

    Hope your actually ok with just a wound to the ego. Gravity one, Keira zero.

    D

    Like

  2. KDKH says:

    Glad you’re OK. A similar thing happened to me recently, although thank goodness I wasn’t carrying my “baby” – my camera. And yes, birds are smart enough to see what is going on, Were they laughing? My birds have an interesting sense of humor…. Love the flower you left for last. She’s gorgeous!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.