MtLawleyShire on an outing

Saturday – an outing to see the Giants in the CBD.  I thought I had it all organized, but the bus went a different way.  I hadn’t seen this on the maps.  So I had an extra walk.  Passed this beautiful tree unaffected by the growing crowds:

city_3

A rose outside a Greek Orthodox church and a lion guarding a closed restaurant:

city_4  city_5

Then I was in the crowds.  I had missed my best opportunity to see the Giants.  The crowds were incredible – and I don’t like crowds, being rather small.  But I wish I’d taken photos of the crowds.  1 million people visited the city during this 3 day event and the afternoon I went? In this one small area?  100’s of 1,000’s.  And I was one small member of that crowd.  I couldn’t see over or through and the best photos I got of the Little Girl was as she was going up the steep slope of the Horseshoe Bridge:

city_8  city_6

I escaped the worst of the crowds to catch the train to Daglish.  Inside the station, it is still possible to see the old style of the building:

city_2

and I did love the geometry of the modernistic ceiling:

city_1

On the walk to my friends’ place, I was struck by the light coming through leaves:

daglish trees_20  daglish trees_6

It is a very leafy area and there will be another post of all the trees along the railway line, but here are some details.  Berries on a moreton bay fig tree and the surprising colour of blossom on a young eucalypt:

daglish_3  daglish_12

The banksias are getting ready to burst into candles:

daglish_9  daglish_11

It was really too windy for photographing flowers, but I couldn’t resist this grevillea in someone’s garden:

daglish_1  daglish_2

And this – a cassia fistula the flowers cascading in the light:

daglish_4  daglish_6

daglish_10  daglish_8

daglish_5

Finally, after a lovely evening, although I got home when it was dark, I was still greeted by a Fattee Cattee – all purrs and cuddles.  So here she is before I left, being affectionate at me:

cat_1

Quite an exciting weekend.  I hope you enjoyed this little taste of it.

Next post – trees!  🙂

