MtLawleyshire visits wintry Matilda Bay

Well – *I* visited Matilda Bay, not all of MtLawleyshire, but you know what I mean.  Last month, July, was wet and cold – in the depths of a beautiful winter.  And what a day.  They were forecasting rain, but what happened was a cloud descended.

This photo shows the city – not in focus because I was focused on the 3  flying corellas.

birds_8

In fact, it wasn’t raining when I arrived.  There were crowds of corellas:

flying:

birds_7

and feeding on the foreshore of the Swan River:

birds_1  birds_5

There were swans:

birds_2  birds_3

even grooming swans have a certain elegance:

birds_4

then, in the cafe, I watched the city disappear

mythical city_1

and then it was gone. I looked out over a river that vanished into infinity:

mythical city_2  no city

the cloud covered all – the view from the cafe was made magical by a cloud taking a break on the ground:

misty trees

slowly – very slowly, it lifted and the city began to reappear:

cloud lifting_2  cloud lifting_1

the clouds passed to the west:

cloud lifting_3

& the sun came out. Everything was covered in gems!

gemmed_1  gemmed_2

gemmed_3  gemmed_4

gemmed_5

the corellas basked in the light

birds_6

finally – my favourite photos of the visit.  A companionable little willy wagtail who sat beside me outside the cafe.  He didn’t mind me pointing the camera at him.

willy wagtail_1  willy wagtail_2

and in one shot – between pressing the button and releasing it, he opened his beak.  He looks angry, as though he’s squawking all sorts, but no.  Almost as though he was yawning, maybe asking for food.  I can’t believe I got the shot!

where were you

 

I hope I haven’t overloaded you with photos – & also hope you enjoyed these snips from a magical day for MtLaweyshire at Matilda Bay

🙂

4 comments on “MtLawleyshire visits wintry Matilda Bay

  1. Inga says:

    So cool that you show us the changing of the weather like this. Great shots all around, and some magical foggy shots there too. 🙂

    Like

  2. niasunset says:

    WOW! amazing photographs all of them 🙂 Thank you, love, nia

    Like

Comments are closed.