Out of MtLawleyShire: Matilda Bay & apologies

This will probably be my last post for another little while – so much study, and I am getting there!  And then I will spend happy hours catching up with all your posts.  There are so many I wanted to look at but they come so this and fast!

But this was a visit to Matilda Bay this week – the day after I went to Kings Park and the weather had turned gloomy and colder. There were almost no flowers, just these – a white non-native where last year there had been massed ground covering Grevillea. Very sad to see places fall into neglect.  And the flowers of the cape lilac tree, filling the air with subtle perfume.  These trees are also regarded as ferals, but they are delicate additions to a landscape of leaves.

weed  matilda bay_3

There don’t seem to be any cygnets on the Swan River this year, but the family from last year is still here.  I have played with these photos – I might use them as cards.  What do you think?

matilda bay_10  swan_1

 

matilda bay_9  swan_3

swan_2

swan_5  swan_6

swan_4  swan_4

I caught a raven, on the grass, then in the huge old cypress, cawing to other members of his family:

raven  raven_1

 

and trees: the contrasts with brilliant Spring leaves of plane trees against the native greens in the darkening day,

matilda bay_4  matilda bay_2

 

matilda bay_1  matilda bay_8

matilda bay_6

And here are clouds gathering across the Swan, and a rain cell dumping its load over South Perth and parts east towards the hills.

matilda bay_12  matilda bay_11

 

Now this guy? Not hovering over Matilda Bay – he’s hovering over the roofs of MtLawleyShire, near my own little house, reminding me to get back home and onto the computer and WORK! A sparrowhawk. Not a great photo, but still – I am happy with it. He wasn’t just hanging there!

sparrowhawk

I hope you enjoyed this little excursion.  I will be back, and looking forward to catching up with you all.

🙂

4 comments on “Out of MtLawleyShire: Matilda Bay & apologies

  1. Inga says:

    The treatment of the cygnets photos are great. I’m sure you can use them as cards. 🙂

    Like

  2. bulldog says:

    Love the swan photos… and more trees… yeah…

    Like

Comments are closed.