Out of MtLawleyShire: Kings Park Wildflowers #2 – en masse

It’s very difficult to get the wide sweep of flowers – Kings Park is in the middle of the city, but it is a large part of wilderness apart from the planted areas. And these fields are ‘planted’ so some extent – sweeps of wildflowers that wouldn’t fit in my little camera, but hopefully you get some idea of the sweeps of colour that are possible.  One day, I would love to see them in the wild where they can ‘paint’ great swathes of landscape in brilliance.

 

kings park_49  kings park_48

kings park_47  kings park_46

kings park_45  kings park_42

 

kings park_38  kings park_37

kings park_34  kings park_33

kings park_23  kings park_34

and then there are the massed kangaroo paws:

kings park_22  kings park_43

 

kings park_13  kings park_33

 

kings park_41

 

the colour of these spaces is wonderful.

And so are the trees, but you will have to wait for another day.  It is time I went to bed 🙂

I hope you enjoyed my so short few hours walking in the flowered places of Kings Park.

 

12 comments on “Out of MtLawleyShire: Kings Park Wildflowers #2 – en masse

  1. Inga says:

    Your latest wildflower posts are really wonderful. So many amazing looking flowers 🙂

    Like

  2. Marianne says:

    Gorgeous photos – I love wildflowers 🙂

    Like

  3. bulldog says:

    Love this share… love these photos…. would love some of that rain that our garden flowers would make an appearance…

    Like

    • Thank you 🙂 And, I don’t know what the flowers were like earlier, but as we didn’t get any winter rain, which is when these flwoers need it, there are not as many as there used to be. Up north, apparently, there are none becuase of a very weak wet season. Around Alice Springs though, apparently for a couple of weeks last mnth, it looked as though people had spilled buckets of brilliant paint in all different colours everywhere. No-one has mentioned the wildflowers down south so I am thinking it’s not a good season. Apparently the water content in teh soil is the lowest it has ever been. It feels as though we’re getting rain, but these are the first decent rains since last September. And everything is beginning to reflect a severe lack of water in the entire system. But I hope you get rain soon…

      Like

  4. Yes, I enjoyed it very much! The swathes of wildflowers in the Park might be ‘cultivated’ but it gives us a glimpse of what they must look like out in the countryside. This is a part of the Park I love – that rugged, natural representation of the West’s Garden of Eden. Were there lots of birds? Oh, and the grass trees … one of my faces 🙂

    Like

    • YEs, the swathes are gorgeous. I heard lots of birds, saw the occasional but there were also HEAPS of pople! The first sunny day ina long time, & school holidays. I thought I was safe going on a Monday, but – no way! So, not many birds near me & my little camera. Had one lovely shot of a flower-filled meadow spoiled by 3 young idiots playing in the flowers – not kids. Over 20. They leav a flattened patch of crushed flowers.

      Like

  5. What a wonderful collection of pics. Oops, have to get back to work. Sigh.

    Like

  6. niasunset says:

    I always like your walking photographs… how nice spring is there now… They are beautiful dear Keira, but wondering trees too 🙂 Thank you, love, nia

    Like

Comments are closed.