Out of MtLawleyShire: Kings Park Wildflowers #1

I finally got to Kings park early this week – on a sunny day that was, sadly, very windy. Many of my photos were spoilt by the wind shifting about flowers and leaves.  But I did get some shots evocative of the beauty of the wildflowers that paints Western Australia’s wild places in the festival held at Kings Park every year.

Because I was so late going this year, many of the flowers were either finished or almost.  But still, there are a few 🙂

I have split the post into individual flowers (this one) and massed flower displays (next one)

The first thing I saw made me laugh with delight – an old rusted out Holden, an iconic car in Australian culture – planted with wildflowers.  Quite delightful.

kings park_28  kings park_27

kings park_35  kings park_29

kings park_36

I don’t know many of the flower’s names, so shall just post with comments.

Kangaroo paws:

This is the most iconic of the kangaroo paws – the red and green

kings park_20 kings park_24

 

kings park_19  kings park_18

pink:

kings park_3

these ones:

kings park_2  kings park_25

and red!

kings park_50

 

& my favourite – the south-west Kangaroo paw:

kings park_11  kings park_16

Banksia:

kings park_6  kings park_12

kings park_14

eucalypt flower – it makes gumnuts and was the last left on the tree:

kings park_1

Bottlebrush flowers – the first is a round fluffy, puff-flower-ball at the junction of two small twigs.  Utterly gorgeous.

kings park_32  kings park_31

 

I don’t know what these are but I love their delicacy. There’s 2 different types, and they are at the end of their flowering, so I was lucky to get them:

kings park_15  kings park_17

kings park_39  kings park_40

I call this red fluffballs – they are tiny.

kings park_8

Rare Grevillea – not the best photo, but it was soooo windy.

kings park_5

 

I don’t know what these are, but I like them.  The green ones are like pom-poms.

kings park_7  kings park_10

 

the ‘bacon and egg’ flower and – well, I don’t know what it is

kings park_21  kings park_44

little white ones

kings park_4     kings park_9

A branch of Geraldton wax flowers and a type of little ‘paper’ flower.  They can be dried and will last forever without losing their colour:

kings park_26  kings park_30

 

I hope you enjoyed looking at the flowers 🙂

Next post: Kings Park wildflowers en masse

 

4 comments on “Out of MtLawleyShire: Kings Park Wildflowers #1

  1. bulldog says:

    Your Kangaroo flowers are out of this world… I’ve never seen them before…

    Like

    • Really? I am glad I photographyed so many – though many didn’t turn out because of the wind. & they are so difficult to photograph. My little camera gets confused by background because they are so slender.

      Like

  2. Terrific! Loved the rusted out Holden, though its’ siting on the paved area is a little too contrived … love the green and black kangaroo paw too, so dramatic! 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.