Flowers in and around MtLawleyShire

It has been a while since I have posted – several problems.  One is the workload – I just run out of time. The other is my eyes and my ability to focus.

Yes, I have my new glasses, but they are multi-focals, and it could take up to 3 months to become accustomed to them.  My eyes get very tired with all the reading and writing I’m doing, and I am not able to use the zoom lens at all.  I am having trouble focusing on things even using my little point and shoot.

It is very frustrating.

However, in this post, you will see what I’ve done with some of those badly focused photos.

But, this post is mostly flowers I have taken over the last week.  It is moving towards Spring – early, perhaps, but what else can we expect in this era of unstable climate.  And though I dread the approach of summer, Spring is always beautiful.

A golden banksia and a yellow daisy taken on a dull day and filling the lens with captured sunshine:

banksia bright

a ref hibiscus small with winter & a bottlebrush flower – with bee!

little hibiscus  bottlebrush

 

Purple daisies & a red gerbera

 

purple  gerbera

a little pink flower & freesas – I must go walking to find more beds.  I love the perfume of freesas.  The ones in my garden aren’t out yet.

little flower  freesas

 

a clump of everlastings

everlastings

A hibiscus from another bush & a Grevillea:

hibiscus  grevillea

 

Now – blossoms – they are getting thinner and in some trees, there are more green leaves than delicate flowers.

Almost blossom, some lit by sunset:

almond blossom_1  almond blossom_3

almond blossom_2  almond blossom_4

 

 

almond blossom_5  blossom_1

 

 

blossom_2  blossom_5

 

blossom_4

 

plum & other pink blossom:

plum blossom  blossom_3

 

pink blossom_1  pink blossom_2

 

This is a variety of jasmine.  This is the first year it has glowered this way, all over the gate to my little courtyard.  It will also be the last year as I either have to leave it behind or pull it up from the ground and hope to transplant it – wherever I end up…

 

little yellow jasmine_3  little yellow jasmine_4

little yellow jasmine_5  little yellow jasmine_2

little yellow jasmine_1

A native plant of some kind with clouds of wonderful tiny white flowers:

sunlit_2  sunlit_1

flame tree flowers.  These are also getting thin.

flame tree_2  flame tree_1

matilda bay_flame tree

 

But also it is coming close to Spring, there are not many roses.

This is a tiny white rose.  It was a dark day and the photo was very grainy.  So I played.  I cropped and darkened at first, then looked at the full sized photo and decided I liked the effect where the rose is almost the only colour.  I hadn’t intended the effect, but I kinda like it.

rose         rose_2

This rose was very washed out so I played with the light, and again, like the effect.

rose_4

Some black and whites

black and white_1  black and white_2

 

But, after playing with the rose, I decided to try the same effect with other photos that didn’t work because of lack of light.  in some, I used a softening filter because of lack of focus, in others, I didn’t.  Some I might try again – what do you think?

singing honey eater_play

 

 

painting_5  painting_2

 

painting_8

 

matilda bay_4  painting_4

 

painting_7  painting_9

painting_6

And here are the first of the wildflowers for which Western Australia is famous:

wildflower_1  wildflower_2

wildflower_3

 

wildflower_4

wildflower_5
No, not a flower, but isn’t she gorgeous 🙂

girgeous girl

9 comments on “Flowers in and around MtLawleyShire

  1. Great photos, Keira. How amazing are Aussie flowers, hey?

    Like

  2. Madhu says:

    Love what you have done with the flame tree flowers. They look like Japanese paintings!
    Missed Fattee Cattee in the next post (that i read first) 🙂

    Like

    • I’m really glad you liked the ‘played’ with images, Madhu – it does mean I can get something from some of the photos at least. & yes, Fattee Cattee is a gorgeous wee flower 🙂

      Like

  3. niasunset says:

    They are all so beautiful and there are some that I didn’t know before… Thank you dear Keira, have a nice weekend, and kisses for your lovely cat 🙂 Love, nia

    Like

  4. I lot of very nice photos in this series! 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.