MtLawleyShire sunshine while it lasts

Of course I love winter, but the sunshine this weekend has been a boon in regards to catching honey eaters in the flame trees (& getting the washing dry) although my eyes didn’t help – many a photo on today’s little walk was out of focus.  But not all.

A red wattle bird and a singing honey eater – the only honey eater I managed to catch this afternoon.

flame tree_1  flame tree_2

striped in shadow:

flame tree_3  flame tree_4

 

2 wattle birds in the one frame (one photo more successful than the other):

 

flame tree_5   flame tree_7

 

In the east, clouds were building along with a thick warm wind:

 

cloud_1  cloud_2

 

The difference in the sky was notable, but the light on the flame tree flowers was lovely:

 

flame tree_6  flame tree_9

flame tree_8

 

As I walked down the street, I took some photos of a bottlebrush bush – it is made of all the spent flower spaces.  They probably have a technical term, but I don’t 🙂  They add a fascinating personality to the tree and wonderful patterns against emptiness.  I will try photographing them again when I have my new glasses.  Focusing was difficult here.

bottlebrush_1  tree_3

 

To trees – a pied lovely on the corner of William Street and a tall tree in the ground of an apartment block.  Not the prettiest photo, but it is a lovely tree:

 

tree_1  tree_4

 

Down a lane, another flame tree, but it was too windy to try catching teh flighty singing honey eaters who were everywhere, teasing me 🙂

 

down a lane

 

Over a high brick fence, I saw a bud bigger than my hand and the flower.  The photos don’t really give you an idea of the size, but it’s very large!

down a lane_2  down a lane_3

 

Two galahs in bright sunlight, grazing on a street verge:

galah_2  galah_1

 

Brilliant colour in a garden in heavy shadow:

 

colour_1

 

Sweet peas that were teh only grace in a new house for which they tore down something old and graceful with a garden & trees and erected a grey and white box that they will have to make livable with air-conditioning.

 

sweet pea_2  sweet pea_1

 

The almond tree blossom: this photo was too dark so I made it darker 🙂

blossom_1

 

Pink & white beauty in one photo and a snatched glimpse of a honey eater at dusk in the other – they do love the almond tree:

blossom_2  blossom_3

Some black and whites:

Black and white_1   black and white_4

black and white_2  black and white_3

 

Then it was suddenly sunset:

 

sunset_1

sunset_4  sunset_2

 

But the aftermath were the best of it, I think:

 

sunset_8    sunset_9

sunset_6  sunset_7

 

I go for my eye test tomorrow.  I am looking forward to being able to focus when I am trying to take photos!  And to the rain (‘heavy at times’ say the forecasters) that will last a whole working week.  So, there won’t be many photos, which with my eyes, is probably a good thing 🙂

& as I get ready to publish this, the wind is howling outside my windows, making the night restless…

 

4 comments on “MtLawleyShire sunshine while it lasts

  1. niasunset says:

    Beautiful photographs, I loved this pink bird 🙂 Thank you dear Keira, love, nia

    Like

    • I love galahs too – so cheeky and cheerful. They are wonderful to see flying against sunset, but that is a rare sight in my part of the city. I’m glad you liked the photos. Won’t be any today – it’s raining – which is a good thing! Keira xx

      Like

  2. bulldog says:

    Sounds as though the weather is about to happen there by you… but the photos captured earlier are magnificent… love ’em all…

    Like

Comments are closed.