Quick shots of MtLawleyShire’s flame trees

It was a stormy morning and an afternoon of intermittent wind and grey and sun.  There was no sunset, and no moon.   But there was some sun, so despite teh wind, I went out to see if I could get any shots of the birds in the flame trees.  I hope I’m not boring you with these, but it only happens for a couple of months of the year, and only when teh weather is OK.  I don’t know if there will be flame trees at my new address, wherever that will be….

There were mostly singing honey eaters there today, all thrusting their heads into the flowers to get at the nectar:

flame tree_2  flame tree_5

 

flame tree_8  flame tree_6

 

flame tree_12  flame tree_11

Some are quite acrobatic:

flame tree_3

 

these two, while not all that clear, intrigue me – something about the ‘design’ of the flowers and twigs:

flame tree_10  flame tree_13

 

& this one:

 

flame tree_15

& this one – upside down and shot in a moment of sunlit stillness:

flame tree_9

flame tree_7  flame tree_1

 

flame tree_4

& here are some flowers – they are so striking

flame tree_14

But, given the weather, there were many that just weren’t right, so I played, although some of those above made for black and white fun too:

flame tree_black and white  flame tree_black and white_3

flame tree_black and white_2  flame tree_black and white_6

flame tree_black and white_5  flame tree_black and white_4

I am missing my sunsets and a chance to go and play with the ‘big’ camera with the new lens.  Maybe tomorrow…

& I really do hope you’re not getting bored…

                   

 

