Birds in MtLawleyShire’s flame tree and the moon

Before I went to work this afternoon, my darling Fattee Cattee posed winsomely:

darling

then I did a quick dash to the flame trees with the *big* camera (the dSLR).  It was full of birds but they were flying and teasing and fighting and not at all still!  I caught a few of the wattle birds:

flame tree_wattle bird_1  flame tree_wattle bird_3

 

flame tree_wattle bird_4  flame tree_wattle bird_2

 

flame tree_wattle bird_9  flame tree_wattle bird_7

 

flame tree_wattle bird_5  flame tree_wattle bird_6

 

flame tree_wattle bird_10  flame tree_wattle bird_12

 

 

flame tree_wattle bird_13

 

flame tree_wattle bird_8  flame tree_wattle bird_11

Then it was time for work.  At the break I went out to see what the evening held – & it held the remnants of what would have been a beautiful sunset.  Experimentally, I tried to capture it.

Between the tall, straight street trees:

west perth_4  west perth_3

 

and from across the busy intersection looking beyond Subiaco Football oval:

  west perth_2

 

I turned around and rising east over Hay Street was the moon, making a mockery of the street lights:

early moon   street lights

and here it is, the almost, just slightly not quite, full moon.

tonight's moon

I don’t know if there’ll be flame trees or birds or sunsets of the moon tomorrow – there might be Matilda Bay but there will also be a storm and heavy rain coming in the late afternoon and evening.  Ah well – we need the rain…

 

