MtLawleyShire’s Flame tree again – and singing honey eaters

Today, there were no wattle birds, it was mostly honey eaters – singing honey eaters, though the little silver eyes were there too.  They are almost impossible to photograph – so tiny, so quick.  Eve the singing honey eaters are not large – & they can be very quick as well, flitting through the flowers, having arguments.  They are a delight to watch.

In some of these photos, because they were taken with a non-zoomed lens on an eos, you might have to click on the pics to make them larger to actually see the birds.

But first, a few photos of the flowers that entice so many birds: I love their scarlet, their scimitar shapes.  The are just wonderful:

flame tree_4  flame tree_5

flame tree_3  flame tree_2

 

& these – against a background of the green of a neighbouring tree:

 

flame tree_1

 

Now the singing honey eaters:

flame tree_honeyeater_1  flame tree_honeyeater_11

Singing honey eaters – see how small they are compared to the flowers

 

flame tree_honeyeater_5  flame tree_honeyeater_12

flame tree_honeyeater_7  flame tree_honeyeater_10

And this was such a lucky shot – my favourite for today:

flame tree_honeyeater_2

 

flame tree_honeyeater_6

I like these three as well 🙂

flame tree_honeyeater_4  flame tree_honeyeater_8  flame tree_honeyeater_9

flame tree_honeyeater_14  flame tree_honeyeater_15

flame tree_honeyeater_3   flame tree_honeyeater_13

two more New Holland honey eaters – smaller than the singing honey eater so even harder to catch.  You might have to click on the pics to actually see the birds.  The first of these photos is my favourite, though it is such a tiny bird in this large photo 🙂

flame tree_new holland_1  flame tree_new holland_3

flame tree_new holland_2

flame tree_honeyeater_17  flame tree_honeyeater_19

 

flame tree_honeyeater_18  flame tree_honeyeater_21

 

flame tree_honeyeater_23  flame tree_honeyeater_22

flame tree_honeyeater_20

 

& these 2 – singing honey eaters against the rising almost full moon

flame tree_honeyeater_24  flame tree_honeyeater_16

 

I hope I have time to take photos before I go to work tomorrow.  From Tuesday on, there is rain forecast, which is a good thing.  We have had almost no rain this winter.  It has been a desert winter and we sorely need the rain.

 

12 comments on “MtLawleyShire’s Flame tree again – and singing honey eaters

  1. Anna says:

    Oh, magnificent, Keira. I love the birds, moon and flowers. I think my favourites would be the first and the last photo…difficult call, though

    Like

    • thanks, Anna – I won’t get a chance till next month with the moon now – rain & clouds for the next week & it’s full moon now. Pray for some fine nights in August, though we sorely need the rain.

      Like

  2. kdkh says:

    I had a hard time choosing s favorite! What beautiful trees; I’ve never seen one before viewing your photos. Now, I’d love to have one. I doubt they’d survive our harsh, snowy winters here, though. Good job on the photos.

    Like

    • Thanks – they are South African trees, but the flora vetween South Africa & Western Australia is very similar. I love them too, though they are, in summer, rather unremarkable & untidy. These flowers and the birds they attract make winter very vibrant 🙂

      Like

  3. bulldog says:

    I have zoomed in to most of these photos and you do have some fantastic captures here… I love your favourites… and would suggest that maybe a little cropping of some of the photos, just to highlight the birds next to the full photo would go down well… just a suggestion… love ’em all

    Like

    • Believe you me – they *are* cropped. Any more cropping & they begin to show pixels. It’s the reason I have decided to spend money I cannot afford and get a lens that will zoom. Searching through the photos for the birds I know are there is very wearying! And I will be able to get closer shots. Am glad you liked them though 🙂

      Like

  4. Joanna Fay says:

    Exquisite, Keira xx

    Like

Comments are closed.