Apologies and a Sunset out of MtLaweyShire

A spectacular sunset on Wednesday the 10th of April.  It was the last decent sunset for a week, and the last I will see on work nights – evening comes too early now, although the cool hasn’t.  Nights are very warm and muggy and days, while not getting above 33, are so muggy they might as well be.

But, by way of apology, because I have been so silent – & I haven’t even had time to look at other blogs, I thought I would post some of the many photos I took during my break.

It really was a beautiful sunset, viewed from the Hay/Thomas street corner in West Perth.

sunset_7  sunset_1

 

sunset_6  sunset_2

sunset_4

sunset_10  sunset_3

 

sunset_11  sunset_9

sunset_5   sunset_8

23 comments on “Apologies and a Sunset out of MtLaweyShire

  1. pommepal says:

    WA sunsets must be among the best in Australia, stunning

    Like

  2. marviiilous says:

    Beautiful sunset! Apology’s accepted 🙂 I’ve been silent too. Glad to look at your lovely captures again.

    Like

    • 🙂 It would’ve bee impossible to go wrong with that sunset! And I will be silent for a while more, I’m afraid. Tooooooo much to doooo – though I still take photos 😀 But thanks for accepting th’apology 🙂

      Like

  3. Van Ikin says:

    No doubt it’s just my warped mind, but the streetlights do very much look like alien eyes surveying a holocaust. They’re fantastic photos, celebrating the immensity of the sky – and its fieriness.

    – Van

    Like

    • 🙂 That’s why I like them – & they remind me of the martian machines out of War of the World! UUULLAAAAH!
      & yes – the photos came out wonderfully. & that’s only 10 of ’em!

      Like

  4. […] Apologies and a Sunset out of MtLaweyShire (mtlawleyshire.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  5. Like paintings, Keira. 🙂

    Like

  6. Neil Rickert says:

    It really was a beautiful sunset, viewed from the Hay/Thomas street corner in West Perth.

    Now that location rings a bell. That was where I would get off the tram, heading for school.

    Great pictures.

    Like

    • really? My goodness. I didn’t know there used to be trams there. I thought they were only in the city! Glad you liked the pics 🙂

      Like

      • Neil Rickert says:

        I used to take a tram from South Perth to the city (a Como beach tram). Then, in the city, I would take the tram out to Thomas Street. I was attending Perth Modern School at the time.

        I’m not sure how far the tram went from there, but it went well beyond Thomas Street.

        Sunsets like that are rare, but beautiful.

        Like

      • Oh my goodness! I have never heard of the Como Beach tram! How did it get to the city? Were there trams over the Narrows? Sorry – I wasn’t born here. I’m from Melbourne, so I love & miss trams. One of the sadnesses about Perth (of many) is that there are no trams & not enough trains.

        & yes, sunsets like that are just breath-taking!
        Not pushing myself or anything, but if you go back through my posts, you’ll see many sunsets & some are just astonishing. Most are taken around Mt Lawley/North Perth border which is where I live.

        I wonder if the tram went into Subiaco…

        Like

      • Neil Rickert says:

        The train ran up Canning Hwy (west side), to the Causeway, then into the city. I don’t remember the full route to Como (which I rarely used), but I think it went down Lawler Street. The Narrows bridge didn’t exist until around 1960.

        At the West Perth end, I’m not sure whether the trams continued down Hay Street, or turned down Thomas St (southward).

        There were tram routes out to Mt Lawley, too. I think they went over the Horseshoe Bridge (is that still there?)

        By the time I left (1962) the trams were mostly being phased out.

        Like

      • Our first trip to Perth was in 1969/70. We moved here in 71 after another trip so I missed the trams. The Horeshoe Bridge is still here, minus the lovely wood walkways & stairs that went down to the station. It’s all in constant flux & impossible. I rarely go into the city now. Even the buses get held up by all the construction & roadworks. The Causeway is still there, but Riverside Drive is currently being ripped up & removed.
        I’m not sure you’d like it.

        Like

      • Neil Rickert says:

        Riverside Drive used to be beautiful. I’m sure I wouldn’t like it being torn up.

        Looking at maps, I see I was a bit wrong in my last reply. The train to Como went down Angelo street. I attended South Perth school on Forrest St, just of Angelo, for the last two years of elementary school. I used to bicycle there from where I lived (near the corner of Collins St and Canning Hwy). The trams probably then went down Labouchere rd to Como.

        We occasionally walked to the Mends street jetty, and took the ferry to the city.

        Like

      • Riverside Drive was indeed beautiful. Their ripping up the foreshore & all the green space to build on and they’re going to have a kind of an inlet. They’ve jsut discovered that their plans are not going to allow the ferries in so the Barrack Street jetty will remain – probably be rebuilt.
        I used to know Angelo St very well, drove down there everyday when doing my undergrad depgree at Curtin (WAIT) Uni.
        But I’m also familiar with that area from freinds – & the zoo!

        Like

      • Neil Rickert says:

        As a child, I would sometimes walk to the pine plantation. And I’m pretty sure that’s where Curtin U. was built.

        Like

      • it is 🙂 The pine plantation is still there, though it’s a long time since I was there. I last went to a conference there in 2010 & barely recognized it from when I was there in the 80’s. But the pines persist.

        Like

  7. bulldog says:

    and it is a spectacular sunset…

    Like

Comments are closed.