An evening walk in MtLawleyShire – and Jupiter!

I went for a walk down to Beaufort Street a couple of days ago, but haven’t had a chance to post – working and so on.  And I am still not used to the settings on my camera – or checking them before I take photos, so these roses are in light too low for crisp detail.

The first of these seems to have light inside it & all I can think of is that it caught the light of the lowering sun.  The 2nd is just a pretty bud.

inner light  rosebud

& these – the orangey one is overblown, but still beautiful, considering that most roses I saw that evening were scorched by the hot sunny days we’ve had recently.

pretty  still beautiful

A tree loaded with pomegranates – ripe-looking pomegranates.  Maybe I should’ve nicked one or 2!

pomegranates

Late afternoon light on the branches of a lovely tall gum on William street, and the second photo is of my ‘pied beauty’ friend, also on William Street.  These 2 trees are almost opposite one another.  One is a sort of street tree, the other grows in the grounds surrounding a block of flats.

light on a trunk  pied beauty

On a side road, this tree, spindly and untidy, soars gracefully into forever and light behind a box tree adds mystery & magic:

into the sky  light behind branches

The wonderful shapes of the lemon scented gum street trees: they keep them lopped so they don’t entangle the power lines.

lemon-scented street tree  contorted branches_2

contorted branches

And then – I saw a pair of galahs – they started far apart, but then began to groom each other:

galahs_7  galahs

galahs_3  galahs_2

galahs_4  galahs_5

galahs_6

I finished my shopping and began walking home.  Sunset glow was visible ahead of me, behind the rise:

glow

At the top of the rise – William Street, the glow was broad:

beyond  wide sky

To the east, the pastels were beautiful.  The second of these is the same tree that up above has light on its trunk:

easter pastels  evening pastels

And although there were no clouds, nothing to differentiate the sunset, I had to take photos of that tree:

that tree_2 that tree_3

that tree_1

& finally – lastly – the moon.

 

It turned out to be  the piece de resistance!

I caught – without knowing what it was – the occultation (or the beginnings of) the moon with Jupiter.  I actually got Jupiter in my little camera!!  OK, very small, unbanded, totally undetailed Jupiter, but it *is* Jupiter!

tonight's moon with jupiter in attendance

🙂

 

11 comments on “An evening walk in MtLawleyShire – and Jupiter!

  1. Madhu says:

    A lovely walk. The birds win this time 🙂

    Like

  2. niasunset says:

    Beautiful photographs as always… pomegranates seem so nice… Thank you, for this lovely Mtlawleyshire walking day, love, nia

    Like

  3. Joanna Fay says:

    Gorgeous, Keira. Love the galahs too 🙂 xxx

    Like

  4. bulldog says:

    This last photo is a great capture… not easily caught … well done… as for the gnarly trees .. I love them….

    Like

    • thanks 🙂 I was astonished & didn’t find out till I’d posted the photo on favebook that it was Jupiter. I was thrilled 🙂 & yes, thought you’d love the trees. They nearly didn’t get posted. WordPress has been acting very strange & it took several tries to upload the photos. Hope they are fixing whatever bug is involved!

      Like

  5. Thanks for the wander down to Beaufort Street – it was a magical evening 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.