Another MtLawleyshire Sunset

This is during the last week, but for the last couple of days, I have either been working or the sky has been utterly clear – like last night, although I managed to get this shot of the moon.  It’s heavily cropped, so the sky is a bit grainy, but I am very happy with the moon itself:

half

As I was trying out the new camera settings, here are all the photos I took with the different settings:

Half_3 half_color filter

If only I could remember what the settings were!  There were a couple of others but I am ashamed to say I MOVED!  Oh dear!!

Now, onto that neglected sunset – well almost.  First, a white cockatoo flying above sunset & a bottlebrush flower

above sunset  bottlebrush

Fellow sunset watcher: a singing honeyeater

singing honeyeater

Now – MtLawleyshire’s sunset: it started gold, almost benign:

broad glow  hints of cloud

momentary brilliance  desolation

As the sun sank, clouds whisped in & the silhouettes and light made the shots look like stills from a horror film:

Horror still_2  heat

Horror still_3

It was also the light itself contributing to that sense of something inimical:

golden swirls     horror still_1

Heat_2  intensity

a close-up of those golden swirls:

the swirls

The more distant view:

Horror still_4 horror still_5

turneresque  reaching

These are more ‘Turneresque’ in feel:

turneresque_2  light painting

The last of it, with the sky darkening:

heat of dying day

No – not a sunset, but my fluffy gorgeous girl coming down to see what I am doing:

wrong setting

& finally – do you remember the rose the lovely Italian lady gave me?  Here are inside shots of the rose in a vase on my desk.  Me playing with the flash & settings:

inside rose_1 inside rose_2

inside rose_4  inside rose_3

Just a beautiful rose, and the perfume was divine.

inside rose_5

I hope you enjoyed this sunset & roses – & moon!

Keira 🙂

 

10 comments on “Another MtLawleyshire Sunset

  1. Anna says:

    Gorgeous photographs! Thank you for posting x

    Like

  2. Madhu says:

    Immensely, thank you Keira 🙂
    You must have a powerful zoom…..the craters on the moon are distinctly visible!

    Like

  3. anthea blackmore says:

    Beautiful and such a clever camera operator!!!!!

    Like

  4. ferret says:

    A photo blog?
    Maybe I could “borrow” that concept.

    Like

  5. bulldogsturf says:

    I enjoy anything you throw at us Keira… I just love the photos you take….

    Like

Comments are closed.