A sunset of clouds over MtLawleyshire

It was a hot day of storms that never happened, of rain that didn’t occur and of an overall greyness.  At sunset time, I noticed the cloud cover was thinning, so I went out, curious as to whether there would be anything worth photographing.

Well!  The clouds were stunning.  So – Sunset brought to you by Clouds.

clouds_1

cloud detail_ripples  cloud detail_towards the horizon

clouds_3  clouds_8

clouds_2  clouds_4

clouds_7  solitary ibis

cloud detail  clouds_6

cloud detail_a gap

clouds_9

cloud detail_the long view

One of the delights about sunsetty photo taking is my neighbourhood has become so intrigued by my presence on those evenings I’m not working that they come out to 1. find out what I’m doing & 2. chat.  One old Italian lady chats away and last night, as I took photos of her gorgeous roses (only this one turned out), gave me 2 beautiful ones which now sit on my desk.

lovely

clouds_5  contrasts

sunset colour  belated colour

a flight of sacred ibis I was luck to catch.  (I missed the sparrowhawks – 3 of them – because I was too busy watching them!)

sacred ibis

When sunsetty colour finally happened, it looked like brush strokes

brush strokes  luminous

Virga above my very oven street

virga above my street

And it was supposed to storm & rain over Perth last night & we hardly got any rain & there were no storms.  We have the same forecast today, but the sky is clear.

Sigh.  At least it hasn’t been as hot as over Christmas/New Year – in Perth, at least.  In the centre & the east, from the tip of the Cape down to Tasmania, breaking temperature records & up in flames?  Welcome to global warming!

Hope you enjoyed these clouds 🙂

 

