Weekly Photo Challenge: Resolved

I don’t make New Year’s resolutions, but the one I made this year came a little before New Year – it came when I got my new camera.  But this week’s Weekly Photo Challenge: Resolved made me realize that it really is a resolution, but New Camera’s Resolution instead of a New Year’s Resolution.

So, for this Weeky Photo Challenge: Resolved, I have resolved the following:

To continue to experiment with ‘architectural’ themes – contrasting straight city lines with the more complex shapes and shades of the ‘natural’:

resolved_1  resolved_21

To learn how to get the best out of the settings on the new camera for sunsets – especially as I am thinking of doing ‘urban sunsets’ for next year’s calendar:

resolved_9  resolved_5

To become more involved with trees: shapes and shades of trunks and branches (it has been too hot for much walking so I haven’t been back to Hyde Park since December when I got the last shot for the calendar – these are of another park) – and I must go down to Hyde Park before long, just in case I am doing a Hyde Park Calendar for next year (though that will make it the 3rd calendar on that theme, so maybe not)

resolved_15  resolved_13

resolved_16  resolved_12

resolved_11  resolved_17

To become aware of objects in unexpected places that make interesting photos (this was from a shop window in the city):

resolved_18

To explore different styles and subjects & macro!

resolved_3  resolved_8

To learn the full potential of macro for flowers:

resolved_2  resolved_19

& to learn the correct settings (one of these is the wrong setting so is not perfect at full size – lots of horrid little white specks):

resolved_22  resolved_26

To play with macro (& learn the meaning of camera shake!!):

resolved_6  resolved_10

To explore the texture & colour of bark:

resolved_7  resolved_23

to be open to the unexpected & – again – those camera settings!:

resolved_24

but above all – be utterly open to the delights of the natural world, even in the most manicured of settings like a small, suburban park where I found – almost trod on – 2 sparrowhawk younglings waiting for parents to do a food drop:

resolved_20

resolved_14  resolved_4

& finally, along with all the teaching and the writing (of thesis, poetry & novels) to remember why I started photography in the first place.  I will be doing more of this sort of thing this year – painting (this is a design I did for Christmas, based on all the honey eaters in flame trees I took last winter):

resolved_25

& of course, my fluffy gorgeous girl:

resolved_27 resolved_28

& just one more – to post at least once a week & set time aside to look at & comment on all yours – I have missed you.

Oh I hope I can do all of this, along with everything else.

HAPPY & FRUITFUL NEW YEAR, EVERYONE 🙂

almost forgot to do this :

Related articles

