New Camera – small pictorial adventures from MtLawleyShire

It does Macro, my new camera.  It’s another Canon Powershot, but it’s an sx160 – 16mp & 16 optical zoom.  I have started exploring.

Here is a bee – a terrible misadventure: it fell into a jug of iced water.  I recused it with a long-handled spoon and after these shots, it flew away, recovered.

before falling  half drowned

recovering

And flowers!  Oh!  Here is a tiny star jasmine flower & a tiny chamomile daisy flower

tiny chinese jasmine flower_macro  chamomile daisy

and the tiny, delicate lemon-scented geranium flowers

lemon geranium flowers_Macro_2 lemon geranium flowers_macro

it zooms beautifully (16 optical zoom): other type of jasmine:

jasmine - zoomed

Christmas ornaments

more ornaments  ornament_new camera

& very close – trying to play (unsuccessfully) with reflections:

ornament and reflections_macro

tree flowers or – well – green pom-pom things (very spiky!)

purple flower on a potted tree_new camera  spiky pom-pom tree

& just flowers: a rose bud sheltered from the searing heat of the day & a daisy

sheltered from the sun  daisy

& the singing honeyeaters in my garden – the zoom is far more powerful, giving wonderfully clear pics:

wet from the bath  singing or complaining

singing honeyeater at the birdbath

And I saw a face in the ivy cascading over my fence.  My own ‘green man’.

green man_face in the ivy

Finally – isn’t she beautiful 🙂

watching  waiting

I think my new camera and I will get on OK together.

12 comments on “New Camera – small pictorial adventures from MtLawleyShire

  1. eof737 says:

    Amazing collection…

    Like

  2. Inga says:

    Congrats with your new camera, and happy new year. Lots of wonderful photos in this post. 🙂

    Like

    • Oh thank you! Happy nNew Year to you as well. I am hoping that this year I will find more time for posts & to catch up & spend time wiht all others – you included. Your photos are always stunning.

      Like

  3. Madhu says:

    Looking forward to the magic you two are going to create 🙂

    Like

  4. bulldogsturf says:

    The photos look great and good luck with the new camera… have you looked at my sun sets in the Kalahari, a semi desert area of South Africa… hot as hell and lovely… great pool to swim in every day… Happy New Year to you and may everything you hope for come to fruition…

    Like

  5. Wow, you can certainly get some close-up close ups with that new camera!

    Like

  6. Lovely! What adventures you’ll have together 🙂

    Like

    • 🙂 Yes! And hopefully, despite heaps of work & PhD-ing, I will get to post more too.
      Happiest of New YEars to you – you are coming up to your own adventure very soon. I have been thinking of you.

      Like

Comments are closed.