Saturday’s thunderstorm-y beauty

Thunderstorms.  They were everywhere, all around, but here?  Very little rain and the storm itself passed to the east of me.  So no lightning flashes and sizzles, no great claps of thunder, just rumbles and grumblings like the sky was hungry.  Some areas got hail and drenchings.  Not here.  Sigh.

But there were moments as the storm passed – an hour or so before sunset:

 

 

and far to the west, signs of clearing.

Then, an hour or so later – sunset which went from subdued to overwhelming:

 

 

 

these were taken about 15 minutes after those above:

 

It morphed into the most amazing colour:

 

more and more spectacular:

 

The glow was astonishing and breathtaking:

 

Rain was visible elsewhere:

 

but that colour took my breath away:

then it turned luminous as it faded

and finally, all subsided into night.

Hope you enjoyed these.  It won’t be that spectacular tonight!  The sky is a bright, deep blue and clear.  But maybe I’ll get to see the moon 🙂

6 comments on “Saturday’s thunderstorm-y beauty

  1. scrapydo says:

    Very special! 🙂

    Like

  2. bulldogsturf says:

    The fire in the sky… it is always rewarding after the storm … those sunsets are brilliant…

    Like

    • it was amazing 🙂 Not sure tonight’s will be as wonderful, they say it’s cloudy but I can assure you – it’s not! and working nights cuts into sunset times too 😦 Sigh. Still hoping to find work other than teaching to give me a little more time, but there isn’t much around if you’re not in the mining sector. I just wish it had rained properly yesterday. We are soooo low on water!
      Glad you enjoyed the post, even though there was a dearth of trees 🙂

      Like

      • bulldogsturf says:

        I saw your other post with the trees and got all excited … wrote a long comment, professing the love of your photos… only to experience the nuances of the internet. where a like is accepted and a comment lost… but now we seem to be able to communicate again… this thing they call internet…
        When my computer program is finished and ready for international sales maybe you might take on the Australian agency for us… then I could get tree photos the whole time…lol

        Like

      • be happy to help with international sales 😀 Thouhg not sure what it is – though I think you told me once. The lack of trees is because of a lack of time. I haven’t yet found a routine for walkingbecause my times keep chopping & changing. I no longer get the opportunities. When I do, I look for trees, but I’m working a full week again next week, so I’ll have city photos, but be very lucky to get sunsets or parks or anything else 😦 Paying the rent takes up what time isn’t taken up by lesson planning, and what is left over from that goes towards the PhD (& yes, have done some this morning, and am doing more ina minute – unless I decide to wash the dishes first…). I will get into a routine eventually… then maybe trees 🙂
        & I love your photos too – all those birds & animals! 🙂 I can do birds if I’m lucky, and sometimes cats or dogs, and that’s it really. Unless I visit the zoo (which I love doing but it’s a tad expensive). So, I will keep posting what and when I can, and hopefully, there will be trees sometimes. 🙂

        Like

Comments are closed.