one evening

Thunderstorms have been circling Perth – lots of dramatic looking skies, but barely a drop of rain.  And no storms, despite the visuals.

This particular evening (earlier this week) the sky had been cloudy all day and as sunset time approached, the clouds got heavier and heavier.  There goes my chance to photograph sunset, I thought.  Nonetheless, I went out at about 6.40 (sunsets are now quite late) and sure enough – barely nothing at all.  The colour was almost oo low to get anything at all.

 

So I turned to go home (just around the corner) and passed a rose silhouetted with colour against the grey sky.

I turned for one more look and –

That was unexpected.  So I walked down a little to get a better vantage:

 

More brilliance, then as I watched, the sun blasted from beneath the clouds:

It sent out an obliterating brilliance

 

then the clouds pressed down again:

The colour flaring up to the clouds was amazing, but sadly – my battery began to say – ‘I’m running out of juice’ and – unbelievably, it began to rain.  Thumping great uneven drops.  Not good for little cameras.

but I could not resist the incredible colours the setting sun left on the clouds:

 

and the last – the glow and colour!  It was gone shortly after this photo, night pressed in and all the rain stopped.

 

then inside I went and

2 comments on “one evening

Comments are closed.