Weekly Photo Challenge: Renewal

For me, Renewal means flowers – regrowth, and mostly that’s Spring and I daresay I am not alone there.  So for this week’s WEekly photo Challenge: Renewal, I have scrolled back through a few months to find examples of renewal – & this being Perth, it is still continuing.

One of my favourite haunts, Hyde Park, is showing more signs of devastation rather than renewal at the moment, and as a result of all the works being carried out to restore the ponds, most birds have left.  There is one family though, maintaining their ducklings on the sand bridge built to the easterly island (which is now stripped bare).  But the duckling, hopefully having been born here, will remain so that when the park is recovering (hopefully by March), they will stay through Autumn & winter and be ready for their own Spring.

The mother with her troop of fuzzballs is at Edith Cowan University, Mt Lawley campus.  The campus usually has ducks, but it’s not all that common to see them wandering down the path from the outside cafe towards the library.

 

 

These signs of renewal are more subtle – the south-west kangaroo paw, out very early, but still beautiful, and tiny everlastings at the base of a clump of unwoken flowers

 

A garden bursting into colour (taken at sunset)

Blossoms – non-native but lovely

 

more blossom & a tree of it (almond)

 

 

more flowers.  The tree is full of these beautiful flowers (lovely pinkish colour turned rose-gold by sunsetty light)

 

 

a tree that makes lovely silhouettes while leafless begins to burst into flower, attracting Port Lincoln parakeets and honeyeaters

 

the first of these is a honey eater (wattled) & parakeet facing off amidst nectar laden flowers

 

the most renewing of all things in Perth: Rain.  This is at Matilda Bay.

 

 

Eucalypt blossom

new growth on a bank of bottlebrush – Hyde Park

new leaves on the plane trees, Hyde Park

 

 

Bohenia bud and flower (West Perth)

 

The Jacaranda trees are now in full flower, signs of late Spring.

 

& being bought up a Catholic, had to include these – rainbows, at the end of storms.

 

I feel I was utterly predictable with these images, but I still hope you enjoyed them.

Shall link to as many other entries to this Weekly Photo Challenge as possible.

🙂

(but for some reason, I’m limited to 10 links.  Grrr)

 

22 comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Renewal

  1. eof737 says:

    Your nature shots are stunning! 😉

    Like

  2. Images that brings us closer to our dreams. Dreams that renews our life for something amazing.

    Like

  3. Mariane says:

    What a wonderful series of photos showing RENEWAL – some of them shows a huge wow effect – I glad you made it so that I could see what is going on “down under” (Born in Denmark)
    Thank you so much for showing

    Like

  4. […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Renewal (mtlawleyshire.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  5. love, louisa says:

    I love your rainbow pictures – the color is so much more vibrant than I can ever get mine!

    Like

  6. Madhu says:

    All such glorious reminders of the renewal of life! Well done Keira.

    Like

  7. […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Renewal (mtlawleyshire.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  8. […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Renewal (mtlawleyshire.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  9. I’m so pleased you took the time to post before bum too far in air 🙂 All wondrous signs of renewal Keira and I’m not singling out favourites – in fact I wouldn’t even be commenting for fear you’ll use our comments as an excuse to procrastinate/distract yourself but I first wanted to say Go Keira! 🙂

    Like

    • 😀 I’m procrastinating well enough on my own – though it is PhD related: what nuclear explosions actually look like (very sublime & utterly grotesque!). Still, I’m not writing that 1st chapter (slaps self on wrist). Thanks for commenting though 🙂

      Like

      • Wrist slapping? Isn’t that a little feeble, even for a procrastinator? And don’t tell me about the sublime aspects of a nuclear explosion, I didn’t want to know there were any 🙂

        Like

      • grotesque sublime – & it’s privotal to my thesis. I’m making up a new category of the aesthetic 🙂 & having just spent an hour or so watching nuclear explosions on youtube, yes – they are grotesque sublime!

        Like

  10. bulldogsturf says:

    First how nice to see a blog from you once more… I miss you…
    second, no one is predicable, you are known for your plants, trees, rainbows, sunsets, (although a sunrise would also be nice) parks, water, flowers, that isn’t predictable.. that’s delectable…
    I love these photos, and our Jacarandas seem to have sprung earlier than yours with Pretoria (the Jacaranda city) in full bloom… an absolutely beautiful sight… nearly as beautiful as your post…the trees that attract the honey eaters is fantastic.. I’d be camped out there just to get the birds… Love this post.. and good to see you here again… hows the PhD coming along..??

    Like

    • 🙂 Thanks. That tree (don’t know its name) is beautiful before & during flowers, but like the flame tree, has ugly leaves. Like the flame trees, it’s now in full leaf so no longer does anything more than provide a frame for sunsetty photos.
      & yes, the jacarandas are gorgeous right now. later today I’m going down to Hyde Park to see if the avenue of jacarandas has come out. They are being very tardy at this time of year.

      The PhD? I’m about to go nose-to-the-grindstone, head-down-bum-up, pedal-to-the-metal – it’s on full bore! Today I start on Chapter 1 of the essay & the bilbiography (gulp).

      Like

Comments are closed.