Only once a year in my garden

This plant only flowers briefly once a year – and here it is: the first full flower

 

The light at this time in the morning is lovely & I tried to capture it on the petals

 

It floats against the giant fronds of the tree fern

And there are more flowers coming:

 

30 comments on “Only once a year in my garden

  1. I love them. They are called zygocactus or, more correctly, Schlumbergera. They come in white, pink, yellow, orange, red or purple. At one time a decade ago I had all of the colors. Now I just have a pink one.

    Like

    • Yes, I found out the name after I posted & I’ve seen white & red – I didn’t know about yellow & orange or purple! Imagine having all of them in a garden 🙂 I love it that for most of the year, their silent, ugly and dour – then this 🙂

      Like

  2. Madhu says:

    Gorgeoous! isn’t that a kind of succulent?

    Like

    • I believe so – something that doesn’t like a lot of water – or light 🙂 And it’s still flowering, more and more flowers. I will have to take more photos…

      Like

  3. Colby Bawcum says:

    Very nice blog, thanks for share this article with us

    Like

  4. Sunshine says:

    Very beautiful flower. Thank you!

    Like

  5. Inga says:

    Beautiful! Such a lovely color.

    Like

  6. marviiilous says:

    it is really worth the wait! hope its beauty would last for the whole year 🙂

    Like

    • yeah 🙂 It is. When it’s in full flower, I’ll try to take more photos, though my plant is only small so the show is not as glorious as some I’ve seen

      Like

  7. Nice flower Keira. And by trhe way I have the same in my house that just flowered. My sisterinlaw in Sidney gave me an offshoot from her terrace, just a couple of leaves, some years ago when I visited. It went with me to Bali for some days and then all the way home. Were it now flowers in our spring…once a year.

    Like

  8. cocomino says:

    Very lovely. The pink is bright. 🙂

    Like

  9. It’s official then: winter’s on its way! Make you happy? Not that the sight of your Zygocactus (correctly Schlumbergera) won’t make you very happy, especially in the morning with the sun shining through it like that, but that it’s also the messenger for winter will, I think, make it especially dear to you over in Mt. Lawleyshire:)

    Like

    • well, that’s a bloody relief!! 😀 Though, just last night, for the 1st time, I was able to wear a coat. YAY! But still, I doubt I’ll have many irises or freesas or daffodils come Spring because they’re alreayd up which means they’ll be too confused to flower. Me & the rest of the streets – they’re all up several months early. 😦

      Like

      • Not a good sign, is it? How long has this drought been going on out your way?

        Like

      • for the last 30 years. That’s how long the decrease in rainfall has been happening and there’s less rainfall each year. But this year, it’s been the warmth up till – this week, actually. Wearing a coat for the first time last night should give you some idea as, while I love the cold, I also feel it. But the dams are recording their highest level since 1996 at the moment – just over 40% – so hopefully we will get some rain to increase that a bit more.

        Like

      • It’s too long to be called a drought, isn’t it? Glad there’s some water in the dams, but I’ll bet the groundwater supplies are pretty deep, which is what you were telling me earlier, isn’t it? Oh dear. Perched on the edge of the continent there, squished between the sandy desert and the salty desert of the ocean, Perth has always been a tentative sort of place, I guess.
        What on earth took you over there in the first place? Seems so unsuitable for you! Or has the extremes in climate worked on you insidiously, year after year? When I first went to live in Canada I hardly noticed the cold and dark, but as each year came and went the dread built up and up … Boy, was I ever pleased to get out of there!

        Like

      • YEs – it’s not a drought anymore. Ground water suplies are lowering quite alarmingly. We now have 2 desalination plants and they’re talking aobut plundering the southwest aquifers to supply Perth. of course, giveing mining rights to companies to use & pollute what ground water supplies remains is always in the offing – & has already happened without any amending of water entitlements regarding whether it goes to agriculture, drinking or mining. I’m betting before a decade is out, they will give in and allow people to dig for the cvoal around Margaret river, destroying not only the ecosystem and tourist, wine & agricultural industries, but also destroying the river system and water tables there too.
        Came here when I was a teenager with the family, and when I returned after lviing in Britian, it was only because it used to be small cheap & moserately comfortable. It’s changed, I never have any money, and the weather has changed markedly in the last decade. Summers are now terrily hot and humid, winters are getting shorter and later…
        I’ve never liked the heat, always preferred Britian, so Tasmania – I’m aiming for you 🙂

        Like

      • Oh dear – I can only hope the downturn in China will help ease the pressure on digging up the entire state. Did you see Gina Reinhard is now the world’s richest woman?
        I think Tassy’s the place for you, yes. Or the southern highlands? Start hatching a plan of action for as soon as that PhD’s in the bag … 🙂
        I’m off to see the Vet. Miss has a rash …

        Like

      • Oh – I hope Miss is OK. Southern Highlands would be wonderful as well, but not for employment, so I am aiming for Hobart 🙂 Looking forward to seeing what you think of the ‘he-oaks’ 🙂

        Like

  10. Wendy Strahan says:

    It’s a zygocactus Keira. Wish you were here to take a photo of two of mine that are out at the moment 🙂

    Like

  11. bulldogsturf says:

    And what tree is it? Love the photos…..

    Like

    • :aughing! Not a tree at all – a wee long leaved plant in a pot! But while it’s not particularly beautiful most of the year, when it flowers, it shines. Glad you liked the photos 🙂

      Like

  12. niasunset says:

    WOW! So beautiful, so beautiful… Thank you dear Keira, with my love, nia

    Like

Comments are closed.