A quick trip to MtLawleyShire’s university

I had to drop off some books at the Mount Lawley campus of Edith Cowan University, where I’m doing my PhD, & on the way back to the carpark, saw some trees in flower.  Some were difficult to photograph as the flowers were very shiny & the sunlight was so bright, but hopefully this gives you an idea:

 

Others were lovely, the epitome of Australian gum tree blossom, though the tree itself is a strange one, very striking with the young branches and twigs white, like the gumnuts left behind after the flower had finished, the green leaves and dark trunks.

 

 

 

These are so newly opened they still have their caps on

There were other trees, but I had only a little time, so just this one with its height and intriguing bark:

 

and that’s all.  And I got to return my books before they were overdue 🙂

 

14 comments on “A quick trip to MtLawleyShire’s university

  1. Madhu says:

    Lovely lovely shots! Good luck with your PHD! Is the subject for your thesis going to be your beloved trees?

    Like

  2. You really have a lot of strange and special trees in your neighborhood.. 🙂

    Like

  3. Thank you for the bark shot – it’s gorgeous! What on earth are those first red flowers? They look more like upside down triffids to me, something organic rather than a simple flower – some very WA type tree, that!
    Glad you got your books back on time – can’t be late and labelled irresponsible:)

    Like

  4. niasunset says:

    Oh dear what a beautiful photographs, always fascinating me your trees and flowers… Dear Keira, Good Luck for your PHd, Thank you for sharing all these beautiful moments with us, have a nice and enjoyable day, love, nia

    Like

    • I don’t do those trees justice, but the flowers are just gorgeous. I’m glad you liked them, Nia. & thank you for your wishes for my PhD. I will need it! 😀

      Like

  5. bulldogsturf says:

    How pleased I am that you are doing a PhD, it takes you to the trees, Love the flowers…. and the photos..

    Like

Comments are closed.