Sheoaks in MtLawleyShire

Wanderlust Gene has found out some information about a flowering sheoak I photographed & posted a couple of days ago: red fluffy little flowers.  I had never seen flowers on a sheoak before.  And Wanderlust Gene discovered in researching that this is the female tree.  I’ve posted them again:

 

So, I have just come back from a dash to the Post Office.  In the carpark there are two beautiful (& large) sheoaks – & I hadn’t noticed any flowers.  But Wanderlust Gene read that the male sheoak has yellow flowers – sort of.

I think I found evidence that the sheoaks outside the post office are ‘he-oaks’ 🙂

Beautiful trees, and you can tell the oder of the photos by the amount of green in the needle leaves – the last shot is as the sun was setting over MtLawleyShire 🙂

 

 

See?  Beautiful fluffy reflected sunset light 🙂

 

A quick trip to MtLawleyShire’s university

I had to drop off some books at the Mount Lawley campus of Edith Cowan University, where I’m doing my PhD, & on the way back to the carpark, saw some trees in flower.  Some were difficult to photograph as the flowers were very shiny & the sunlight was so bright, but hopefully this gives you an idea:

 

Others were lovely, the epitome of Australian gum tree blossom, though the tree itself is a strange one, very striking with the young branches and twigs white, like the gumnuts left behind after the flower had finished, the green leaves and dark trunks.

 

 

 

These are so newly opened they still have their caps on

There were other trees, but I had only a little time, so just this one with its height and intriguing bark:

 

and that’s all.  And I got to return my books before they were overdue 🙂