Around MtLawleyshire

I am coming to the time when I am not going to be able to post as often – or even reply to posts!  But over the last few days, I have done little walks here and there, and of course, while I don’t have a dog (and I would so love a dog), I do have a camera that just loves going for walks with me.

I walked a different way to Beaufort Street and came home through Hyde Park.  I haven’t included all the photos, I have saved some for later posts.  I have taken many photos, you see 🙂  And tomorrow, there won’t be much of a chance for photographs.  I have a very busy day.

So, on my walk which was the way I used to walk, long ago, when we first moved to Perth.  The streets have changed and some of the trees have gone.  But most remain.

This is an exceptionally tall tree, I’m not sure what type it is, but it is so graceful.

Peppermint trees.  There is nothing more to say, except I love the massive trunk, and am surprised by the almost symmetrical arrangement of the branches in the next photo – it is of a different tree 🙂

 

These are poinsettia.  Rad and pink.  I love the shape of the flowers, but like many trees and flowers along this street, they grew behind a wall, and were too tall for me to see the flowers properly.  They usually flower around Christmas time, so it is strange to see them in flower now.  They’re often given as Christmas presents.  I used to have one in my garden, but it didn’t get enough light.

 

A gum tree in flower with the most beautiful pink blossom.  It was too tall, and behind a wall, so I couldn’t get real close-up, but hopefully they give you an idea.

 

The sheoaks outside the post office on Beaufort Street.  I love their delicacy and the way they catch the light (& the rain when it rains).

 

This tree is just so massive!

The leaves are wonderful now.  We have had the coldest nights since last year – going down to 7 degrees.  It is welcome and fills me with hope that we might have a winter.

 

The beauty of this tree struck me, as did the colours of all the autumn foliage from the islands to the rank of plane trees behind.

 

The ponds were so still that this swamp hen barely disturbed the surface, and the same tree and other foliage was reflected as perfectly as in a mirror.

 

This tree was fascinating for its bark.

Then the walk home:

Mexican rose on an ivy-covered fence, and pomegranate in someone’s garden:

 

And yes – impatient puss-cat 🙂

 

Then the end of the evening.  If you look carefully, you will see a star amidst the darkening blue.

I hope you enjoyed these few photos 🙂

Keira.

25 comments on “Around MtLawleyshire

  1. artisanxi says:

    Great shots as usual. I’ll miss your check-ins, but look forward to when you return!

    Like

  2. zannyro says:

    Sigh….love your beautiful tree photos…just makes me want to go sit under them 🙂

    Like

  3. antiquityandadventures says:

    stunning piccies 🙂

    Like

  4. The massive tree with the green colour is my favorite, Keira. Nice post.

    Like

    • I think it is one of mine too – & I must find out what kind of a tree it is. There are a few of them in that park and they are all so huge with their great sweeping branches. Thanks 🙂

      Like

  5. Very nice pictures!

    Like

  6. niasunset says:

    Oh dear Keira, your trees are talking… they are amazing… ı can’t chose anyone…. they are all great and I love. Thank you, you can’t imagine how nice to me all these trees and to watch them… Have a nice and enjoyable day for tomorrow, kisses for your lovely cat, Love, nia

    Like

    • Thank you, Nia 🙂 I love those trees too, and they amaze me with thier grace, their massive sense of presence. I shall give my cat a cuddle from you 🙂

      Like

  7. marviiilous says:

    i enjoyed these lovely captures! love the reflection of the hen and tree on the pond.

    Like

  8. bulldogsturf says:

    Enjoyed them? I damn well loved them………Your blog makes my day…. I have yet to find another that has your eye for trees..

    Like

  9. andy1076 says:

    Beautiful 🙂

    Like

  10. Lee Ellzey says:

    I really enjoyed the photos today!

    Like

Comments are closed.