A long way from Mtlawleyshire #1: Flowers

Today, I went a long way out of MtLawleyShire.  All the way to main campus of Edith Cown University at Joondalup, around 30 minutes north of Perth on the freeway.  I attend the Mt Lawley (& smaller) campus of the university, and have only ever been out here once before, a few years ago.  Joondalup also has a ‘lake’ – even when full it’s barely a metre deep, and at the moment, despite some rain over the last week, it’s far from full.

A friend and I went up to the University, then took a picnic lunch down to the lake, then walked a way around it through paperbark and banksia forests.  There’d been a big fire there a couple of years ago, so it probably wasn’t as thick as it normally would be.  It explains why so many of the banksias were tall and thin rath that old and spread.

I took an awful lot of photos so I’m splitting the post up into #1 Flowers, #2 Lake, #3 Trees.  There might be more, but that’s it for the moment.

First, the flowers.  These are mostly taken in the grounds of the university which has all native species and all Western Australian.  And beautiful.

Grevillea.  These were flowering in the gardens outside the University library.  The yellow-pink ones are absolutely lovely, but I still love the scarlet ones as well.  They, like the banksia, were thick with bees, but even more – these still had water droplets from the morning’s rain.

 

 

 

Banksias. I think they’re Banksia Prionotes. In the next post (or the one after – remember, there are at least 3 posts from my day trip), there are photos of the banksia forest, but the flowers in those aren’t close up.  These were in the gardens of the university.  There’s a bee on the main flower 🙂

 

 

Even when old, when the flower has left nothing but the core, they’re fairly spectactular:

The brilliant soft red of a miniature bottlebrush:

Technically, this is a flower – but of fungus.  It was growing on a stump of a tree on our walk.

Many of the trees were in blossom, but most were out of reach of both me & my little camera.  These were the only 2 I could get, and one of them’s a little fuzzier than it should be 🙂

 

Next post: the lake and after that – trees 🙂

20 comments on “A long way from Mtlawleyshire #1: Flowers

  1. Deborah says:

    gorgeous! what a beautiful range of colours

    Like

  2. Madhu says:

    These are so gorgeous! Love the yellow and pink ones too!

    Like

  3. marviiilous says:

    what unique and beautiful flowers!

    Like

    • THey are, aren’t they? Australian native wildflowers & plants can be utterly stunning 🙂 But just wait till Spring when me an’ my little camera go to the wildflower festival 🙂

      Like

  4. These flowers are as if they are from a different world. Fabulous, Keira.

    Like

    • THey are from a different world 🙂 The world opposite to yours – and yes, they are fabulous. Brilliantly colourful and with amazing shapes. I’m glad you enjoyd them. 🙂

      Like

  5. bulldogsturf says:

    The banksias and grevillea we get here and the flowers are magnificent, your photos too by the way. The bottle brush (miniature I have in my yard) they are so rewarding. Love the post and can’t wait for the next.

    Like

    • They are lovely, aren’t they 🙂 I love the bottlebrush trees too – rather spindly untidy trees and then, in Sping – those masses of scarlet! & thanks 🙂

      Like

  6. The flowers are gorgeous, such brilliant colors. You captured them beautifully!

    Like

  7. Sounds like a lovely day. Pictures are gorgeous.

    Like

  8. niasunset says:

    But where is your lovely cat, don’t you wait for you )

    Like

  9. niasunset says:

    WOW! Dear Keira, these are amazing and so beautiful I haven’t seen and known them before… Fascinated me. You really captured amazing shots… Thank you dear, with my love, nia

    Like

  10. VIDAL'S NYC says:

    Keira,

    Beautiful photos!

    Like

Comments are closed.