Out of mtlawleyshire #2: Trees in the University grounds

Here is the 2nd of the posts from my little outing yesterday to the University of Western Australia.  I can’t include all the photos. – there’s too many.

All these are from within the university grounds, and only a small portion of the grounds at that, but I was still spoilt for choice.  And it was raining, raining, raining!

First, a massive conifer – the detail of the trunk attracted me:

 

Then a massive tree I saw from a doorway:

 

It is really a huge tree:

the colours of bark in a group of trees outside the faculty where I met my friend:

 

2 trees: the one behind is a scribbly gum – more on them later

just love the alien look of this

a series of tall, wet gums:

 

   

 

Now the lemon scented gum.  Of course I would take photos of this lovely tree.  Though I was hampered by rain threatening to fall on the lens of my little camera.  I’m quite sure that would be disaster!

 

 

Trees and foliage from across the lawn

: 

 

The moreton bay fig.  I love how they gleam in the wet:

 

 

Now – the scribbly gum.  It gets its name from the bark which is, I read somewhere, caused by little greeblies munching through the bark – obviously not harming the tree, just giving this bark the look of having been scribbled on.  When I next go to the uni, if it’s a fine day, I will take more photos.  I love rain, but it does – well, it hampers some activities.

 

 

Of course there are plane trees, most around the internal carparks.  But the detail of the trunk, with the gloss of rain shine, brings out the most wonderful colours and reminds me I must go down to Hyde Park again before too long.

 

These guys are everywhere, especially around what used to be known as the Arts Department (where I did my Masters).

 

detail of a beautiful trunk.

These were taken from across an oval while the rain was pouring down – though you can’t see the rain.

 

The most untidy of all the trees: stringy bark!

 

just beautiful trees:

 

and home – well, it was still raining so she was inside on the armchair amongst the books

There are so many photos I didn’t include.  Heaps.  And now I’ve run out of time to do another post, but they will remain on my computer for use another time.

I hope this wasn’t too large and that you enjoyed it.

Keira 🙂

26 comments on “Out of mtlawleyshire #2: Trees in the University grounds

  1. niasunset says:

    Beautiful trees and wonderful colours… I am being lost in these photographs… All trees are like a special character, like human… talks and dances… Fascinating me always… and you captured their photographs like talking to them… I loved them all dear Keira, your love in these photographs I can see this. Thank you, with my love, nia

    Like

  2. Madhu says:

    You love those trees don’t you? Particularly like the alien 🙂

    Like

    • yeah – I do love trees 🙂 My posts on Hyde Park also have other things, but I wanted to photograph the trees. Some of the buildings are rather lovely at the Uni, but I like photographing trees, flowers, sunsets, cats… have little experience of anything else. Don’t mind street scenes…

      Like

  3. Currie Rose says:

    I like these trees very much. The photos made me feel like I was transported to an enchanted Forrest… 🙂 Thanks.

    I hope you have a lovely day,
    Currie

    Like

  4. intergenerational says:

    I like your blog so I nominated you for The Verastile Blogger Award 😉

    Like

  5. zannyro says:

    SO MANY beautiful trees! Thanks for sharing them 🙂

    Like

  6. bulldogsturf says:

    The stringy bark, when I enlarged the photos I notice a small growth there, is that a new branch? and do the trees leaves look like that? or is it a parasite plant?

    Like

    • I’ve just had a look & I doubt it’s parasitic. The bright new leaves are similar in shape & colour to new leaves in one of the other stringy bark photos. When I was taking it, I dind’t notice anything odd. Trees like this often have odd growths from unexpected areas. I will check next time I’m there – & I’ll try to remember 🙂

      Like

      • bulldogsturf says:

        It looked to me like a sucker growth as many of those type trees send out, I think (no expert), I know the blue gum does it which we have plenty of here that have been declared half invasive due to their water use, I still love them for the size and stature that they depict.

        Like

      • Blue gums are used as plantation trees which isn’t good. Nothing in a monoculture is good. But they are tall & fast growing. We don’t have them in the west, except in plantations which aren’t around Perth. We had one growing in our backyard when I was a kind in Melbourne. I wish I could find out what type of gum the ‘old gum’ was – our favourite tree that one 🙂 It died after we left Melbourne. It was only 14 years old.

        Like

  7. bulldogsturf says:

    Oh how it pleases me to look at your Blog, these trees are just amazing. Thank you. (Never too many by the way)

    Like

    • what a lovely thing to say 🙂 & yes, they are all amazing and beautiful (except, maybe, the stringy bark!). Did you like the scribby gum? I was astonished to find it there. It’s not a WA native.

      Like

      • bulldogsturf says:

        Love it, I like to look at every photo under magnification, so open your photos. They all have such wonderful character that you somehow manager to capture. I’ve experimenting a bit so far nothing comes out like yours, doing something wrong or you just have the knack. But I have saved a few of your photos for future reference. If I ever want to use them I will contact you. Love them all please don’t stop. I have been trying to photo our own indigenous trees, and get them from far quite nicely, but need to learn the close up stuff.

        Like

      • I don’t know how I do it. Friends tell me it’s because I’m also an artist – of sorts. I love drawing, especially trees, but never model them on anything specific. I would love to get a dSLR – my own little camera while veyr good have limitation with macro photography, size, movement, light….
        Would lvoe to see some native trees of your realm – they probably have a lot in common with this lot 🙂

        Like

  8. imexcited says:

    Lovely photos – enjoyed my visit. Btw, thanks for stopping by at my blog 🙂 Have a wonderful day!

    Like

  9. antiquityandadventures says:

    great set of photo’s it looks a great place 🙂

    Like

  10. vnettum says:

    Many fine pictures here. Is the bird in the middle a peacock og peafowl or whatever it calls? 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.