flowers around mtlawleyshire

These are photos that have been sitting, waiting to be posted for a while.  So, as I haven’t walked anywhere interesting (supermarkets – you don’t really want a post of  supermarket, do you?) today, I thought I would post them.

They aren’t all flowers 🙂

First: roses – all from other people’s gardens or street verges.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It seems there are always roses somewhere.

The next are a gorgeous creeper/climber: mexican rose:

 

a whole wall of it:

and a rare shot of actual Bougainvillea flowers: the tiny white flowers in the centre of the brilliantly coloured leaves – because that is what they are: leaves giving the huge creepers all that brilliant colour:

these are two hibiscus:

 

I should one day take a photo of my own – a pale yellow.  Next time…

The next are azalea

Now the next ones are the flowers on the umbrella tree.  There are many of these in Perth and they are pests – they suck up far too much water, grow huge and their roots damage everything.  And they grow so fast they crowd out most other things, including native plants.

I don’t know what this is – it’s not the most attractive plant, tall grass-like clumps with wide blade leaves, but when flowering, they can look magnificent in clumps of towering scarlet – but this has a surprise in it – can you see?

yes – the little singing honeyeater.  I sometimes get them in my own little garden.

Pink jasmine trailing picturesquely over a white garden fence.

A bird of paradise flower.  Sadly, the great clump of this plant was neglected and most of the flowers bedraggled.  This was the best shot I could get of a flower & it really deserved better.

The next are pretty flowers that I don’t know the names of:

 

 

and this one has interesting leaves in the shot.

then there are oak leaves – I can never resist those.

 

And here is the galah, guarding its nesting hole in the lemon-scented gum.  I’m so happy it’s still there.

Some honeysuckle:

And here are two Grevillea – these are cultivars, developed by nurseries so their growing habit is more tree like instead of the untidy, eccentric sprawl it often has naturally – which I like, but these cultivars have lovely flowers:

 

Grass seed heads looking rather lovely:

and two street verge gardens, one colourful with flowers (including some white roses that you’ve seen above) and one green

 

and at the end of all walks – there she is 🙂

 

23 comments on “flowers around mtlawleyshire

  1. eof737 says:

    Gosh! They are all so stunning and bright… Love those flowers. 😉

    Like

  2. HoaiPhai says:

    Nice! There aren’t many floral verges where I live… there isn’t even a sidewalk on my side of the street! Great selection of blooms, and so well photographed. I hope your lap panther appreciates all the press she’s getting.

    Like

    • Laughing – lap panther! She’s too big to fit on my lap unless I’m slothed in the armchair. Floral verges aren’t overly common here, but there are enough of them to make me wish there were more 🙂

      Like

  3. Amy says:

    So lovely!

    Like

  4. Roxxroxx says:

    Lovely – flowers and feline!

    Like

    • thank you 🙂 YEs, the flowers are lovely & the cat? She is quite simply gorgeous – & it’s all her own work, that gorgeousness. She has a nature to match as well, so I’m doubly blessed 🙂

      Like

  5. Rhianna says:

    such gorgeous photography. Congratulations.

    Like

  6. marviiilous says:

    i love ALL the flowers! oh and the black kitty too 🙂

    Like

  7. niasunset says:

    What a beautiful colours… and how wonderful all these flowers… Some of them are new for me, I haven’t seen them before… And you lovely one is the best as always 🙂 Thank you dear Keira, with my love, nia

    Like

  8. ns says:

    Gorgeous flowers. This post obviously took a lot of time to photograph and then to put together! Thanks!!!!!

    Like

  9. vnettum says:

    Handsome cat you got her! and also very pretty flowers! 🙂 spesially the light pink rose with a hint of white in the middle there;)

    Like

Comments are closed.