Feline Scribes

Feline Scribes

 

A black cat curls

like careless calligraphy,

A grey kitten’s soft in outline:

more a pencil smudge.

Between the written words

Strolls a white cat,

silent and haughty;

A sturdy black and white cat?  A page,

Moving on;

Or a cat white and grey?  Uncertainty –

A testing of letters before applying the ink;

A Russian Blue shows off elegance,

Panache,

a lettering of style.

The light russet brown of a young Abyssinian

Implies the start of a sepia illustration:

Nothing watered down yet,

Paint still strong and fresh.

An orange tabby provides stronger tones

To artwork,

shading against the brown;

A Siamese grants gradations, subtleties,

Complexities –

and voice;

Burmese, Tonkenise draw deeper shadows

Like the surprise in words;

A young long-haired cat

playfully fat and black

adds motion, sensation.

And a tortoiseshell?

Well, she just doesn’t fit,

Won’t make sense in words or pictures

So we’ll leave her out of it.

 

(written 12/05 – 12/08)  Keira

 

(not how I wanted to format it, but after struggling for over an hour, this is what I am forced into.  I wanted to use the curled cat as quotation marks 😦  but the fixed format has little flexibility )

12 comments on “Feline Scribes

  1. this is beautiful! I love all the calligraphic images, and the feline personalities – but the tortoiseshells I know would be deeply offended 🙂

    Like

    • the tortoiseshell I knw (all the cats in the poem are cats I either lived with or personally know/knew) was only interested in milk 🙂 But I’m glad you liked it 🙂

      Like

  2. KC says:

    Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful! I love that. Lots and lots of imagery there. 🙂

    As for the tortoiseshell? She’s what happens when you spill coffee on your manuscript… 😉

    *hugs*

    KS/KC

    Like

  3. niasunset says:

    sorry again should be “but my cat doesn’t write…” 🙂

    Like

  4. niasunset says:

    This was so lovely, dear Keira, WE love YOU, with my cat! But I am jealousy now, but cat doesn’t write anything she sleeps and when she doesn’t sleep create a mess in the rooms and at my desk… 🙂 Your inspiration should be great and I can guess… Kisses for her, Thank you dear Keira for all cats in the world Thank you 🙂 Blessing and Happiness, with my love, nia

    Like

    • I’m so glad you enjoyed it – & it wasn’t my cat that wrote it 🙂 Or, not this one. She appears in the poem just before the tortoiseshell – the young fat playful black cat. It was written before we met.
      But I will tell her that you think she is so brilliant 🙂 THe photos were supposed to be quotation marks, but it didn’t work 😦

      Like

Comments are closed.