The Heart of MtLawleyShire: Lemon Scented Gums

Easter – it’s a busy time, a strange time.  No time for walking to Hyde Park 😦  But I did get to pay more attention to the 5 – 10 minute walk I take so frequently down to Beaufort Street and back.  I found the unexpected amidst the beauty.

It’s all houses and garden and – street trees 🙂  One one road, the council was shouted down when it wanted to remove the lemon scented gums.  They removed a few but not all, and though these trees are very old, they’re cropped so they don’t interfere with the power lines.  It has stunted their normally soaring grace, but the strength of them, their limbs, is accentuated.

The light was too bright, too harsh, to take as many photos of all the trees.  Just couldn’t get the angle right, but here they are:

 

 

And though they are cropped, though their limbs twist and bulge to contain their years within their restrictions, they are intensely valuable for wildlife.  Many Australian parrots like nesting in holes within trees and here (which is why many of them are now critically enfangered because logging decimates their environment), in the heart of urbia, 2 pink and grey galahs have found a suitable hole.  They were excavating as I took these.

And the branches, while distorted, are still beautiful:

And here is my favourite tree: the huge, uncropped lemon scented gum: the straight tall limbs.  I wish now I’d tried to take one of the main trunk, but there is one in an earlier post: March – A Short Walk.

     

I love it that there’s another tree type plant growing up where the trunk branches.  I’m now sure what type it is.  I hope it’s not a parasite & that other people have noticed.  This tree is heritage protected and is fully the largest tree for miles.

That’s it for the moment.  I hope you have enjoyed them.

Keira 🙂

6 comments on “The Heart of MtLawleyShire: Lemon Scented Gums

  1. Wonderful photos. Do they really smell like lemons?

    Like

  2. niasunset says:

    I enjoyed so much dear Keira, you know I am crazy with trees… These are what I haven’t seen in my life… so beautiful, so beautiful… And these parrots too… the colours are amazing… You did a great set for these trees… And be sure, I can never get bored with them… I don’t know why but they impress me so much… Thank you dear Keira, Have a nice day and Happy Easter, with my love, nia

    Like

Comments are closed.