In the Heart of MtLawleyShire:Native flowers & Eucalypt blossom

These are flowers I took over the last couple of days.  The buds on the lemon scented gums and others mean there will be more flowers soon.

Grevillea – I love these.  They are such a beautiful colour (though there are colours other than scarlet.  I have posted one of yellow before, and I think a pale yellow as well) and occur in so many different places – waste ground, corners, neglected areas of gardens.  Birds love them.  If you have Grevillea in your garden, you will have many honeyeaters – & bees which will bring other types of birds as well.

   

 

a long bottlebrush flower:

And these, high up on a tree:

and these, on the tree next door:

and then, these:

The red were on a tree in someone’s garden so I couldn’t go in and get close ups:

 

And these yellow ones are out of story books (Australian: SnugglePot and CuddlePie, by May Gibbs).  The yellow is so beautiful, although the tree (in a later post) is twisted and old with rough bark and shape:

   

I hope you enjoyed these.  I enjoyed discovering them.

Keira 🙂

8 comments on “In the Heart of MtLawleyShire:Native flowers & Eucalypt blossom

  1. antiquityandadventures says:

    great post … 🙂 love the colours ..

    Like

  2. KC says:

    *claps* Yay for birds! Definitely keep us posted on them!

    As for the “small beauties”, I think that’s beauty enough, with your personal slant behind it! And someplace as huge as Australia is has many-many areas to enjoy, not just the picturesque, grand beauty, but also the little places, beaches, towns, cities…just like any other place.

    Here, for example. (America) We have quite a few “iconic” locations…but once you’ve seen’em, you’ve seen’em, y’know? Yay, big beautiful rocks…yay, big beautiful -carved- rocks…yay, big beautiful -painted- rocks…etc. Plus “fruited plains” and all that. But I wish I could just get in my little Kia Soul and drive through everywhere, and show you all the little places. The South…both the iconic magnolia-scented-spanish-moss-draped-ladies-on-the-veranda version…and my preferred version, the little dusty dirt roads and the little communities strung along them like beads. Little diners with better food than the best restaurant I’ve ever been to (which admittedly isn’t saying much, but still.) antique stores crammed into old houses, barely room to walk through, let alone see everything…and the big cities, skylines shining in the hot sun, streetsides that range from trendy boutique areas to dusty old storefront churches and thriftstores.

    I could go on, but I think I’ll save it for a post sometime… 😉 Just know I mean what I say…everywhere has nifty sights and sounds and sense-filling things…you just have to see them. I think you do. 🙂

    Like

    • Oh yeah 🙂 Maybe one day I’ll do a post of my last tript to England. Older camera, less practised, but still – there are many many trees in my collection, or forests, rather, in England. As you say, all places have their beauty 🙂
      & thank You 🙂

      Like

  3. KC says:

    Ok, so when can I come camp on your patio and pester cloud kitty? 😉

    Australia has held my attention more than any other place since I was tiny. First because of a puppet show that I can’t even find reference to anymore, and on the internet, that’s strange. It was one of those that the puppets “lived” in a tree, so the puppeteers didn’t have to crouch down, they could just hide behind the tree. The only animal/puppet whose name I remember right now is Brisbane, the Koala. 😉 When I started to read, I collected everything I could find about Australia, koala’s, kangaroo’s, etc. Then as I got older, I read books like “A town called Alice” and others, in Readers Digest condensed books. (A major contributor to my eclectic knowledge base, btw.) Then, in high school, I watched documentaries, read mythology, became absolutely fascinated with the whole history of it, and the wildlife, land, etc. I particularly need to at least see Ayres Rock. It calls me like Bali Hai…*sighs*

    But it’s not possible, so I’ll just have to content myself with pictures and words and photo’s by beautiful people with an eye for beauty. *hugs*

    KC

    Like

    • Ah KC, sadly I’m not near Ylhuru (Ayer’s Rock) or Katajuka (The Olgas) or anywhere up north or in the middle which is where the iconic beauty of Australia lies. All I can give you are the small beauties I find around Perth, and even those – like Hyde Park – are not typical. But I’m glad you are enjoying them, and I will post some more of cloud kitty (currently slothed asleep very un-cloud-like on the armchair behind me) very soon. and birds. When I walked past the street tree lemon-scented gums, the galah couple were sitting on the branch. It looks as though they have taken that hole for their own which is a wonderful thing. I hope the people arund there with cats are aware…
      Thanks 🙂

      Like

  4. niasunset says:

    what a beautiful flowers… the first one like a lace… Flowers are happiness, smile of our day… or without words they are a poem… I loved so much dear Keira, Thank you, with my love, nia

    Like

Comments are closed.