A short walk

No time for Hyde Park yesterday, but I walked from Mt Lawley to Highgate where I met a friend for coffee – & that meant I  walked past flowers & trees.  And sunset on the way home, a beautiful sunset, structured by clouds ( a rare thing in our world), though rain is looking less likely now, and in fact, the temperature’s going up again this week.  Last night was not cool.  While I was working, & we’re talking midnight, it was still over 20 degrees.  Some Autumn this is!  It was certainly a warm walk down William Street, & although I was running late for my coffee-meet, I stopped along the way:

  

   

  

With native trees, there are no signs of Autumn.  They’re evergreens so there is no appreciable Autumn today 😦

   

And this one is my favourite tree in the whole area – a huge lemon-scented gum:

  my little camera can’t get all of it in, but I love the main trunk with the primary branches looks like a hand.  It is a beautiful tree.

I walked a route I often go if I’m visiting the Highgate end of Beaufort Street which is to turn off William Street opposite Hyde Park.  It felt wrong to not be going in, to not enter the leafy tunnel of the Morten Bay Fig trees, but the street I turned into is lovely with them – & its own tunnel.

 

They are amazing trees, the Morten Bay Fig.  THey are actually a ‘strangler fig’, native to the (sadly diminishing) rainforest areas of Eastern Australia, and now you find them everywhere that is warm enough – which Perth certainly is!  They are famous for their ‘buttress roots’ and next time I’m in Hyde Park, I will take some photos of those, because the trees in the park are much older than the ones along this street. But young though they are, they are still not small.

    

 

light at the end of the tunnel: Beaufort Street.

Beaufort Street looking towards the city

and looking north-east, away from the city:

I will post the sunsets another time.  They were pretty good.  The colours were spectacular.

I hope you enjoyed my short walk.

Keira 🙂

14 comments on “A short walk

  1. eof737 says:

    These are all gorgeous photos… 🙂

    Like

  2. Love the new look, and what a great ramble.

    Like

    • thank you 🙂 It wasn’t a ramble – it was a swift walk down Mary Street to Soto’s – more or less opposite that bakery you used to love. And I think the new look works better as well.

      Like

  3. intergenerational says:

    wonderful trees, wonderful pictures

    Like

  4. I enjoyed your photos, sounds like a very nice walk! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  5. niasunset says:

    Oh dear Keira, these trees are amazing, fascinated me. What a nice walking there, between all these beautiful trees. Thank you so much, I loved them. Have a nice new week and aautumn days, with my love, nia

    Like

    • they are beautiful trees & grow *huge*! Next time I’m in Hyde Park, I will attempt to show you how big they can grow. We are having a very warm Autumn which is not good, not even cold nights.

      Like

  6. Wendy Strahan says:

    That’s the street with the church in it and is gorgeous . I think it is called Mary
    Street . I love going down there and always do on my way to Capital Trading for my Asian goodies .The trees are truly beautiful . Thank you so much for the pics . I love lemon scented gums and that one is lovely . Love the flowers too 🙂
    Wendy 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks Wendy, and yes – it’s Mary Street, & I love it too. I don’t walk down it often enough. The lemon scented is the one outside where I used to live, the huge one on the corner of William & Chelmsford. It has a heritage listing which is a very good thing.

      Like

  7. Van ikin says:

    Enjoyed taking the short walk with you, and the photo-dalliance-stops along the way. Not knowing the area really well, this was a great visual introduction – I’ll remember that green tunnel and look for it whenever I’m out that way. Interesting to watch the city emerge as light at the end of the tunnel!
    – Van

    Like

    • Hello 🙂 Thank you! It’s one of my favourite streets. I’m so glad you enjoyed it.
      Did you see the post about Matilda Bay? It really wasn’t the best day for photos :-/
      Check out the 2 Hyde Park ones earlier – I was able to phtograph a heron! Very exciting.
      And, with the lack of rain the the temp forecast to hit 33 again this week, I’m guessing not all my bending and twisting will be able to put a spin on how much water there is in the ponds. Sigh.

      Like

Comments are closed.